Journal logo

Halloween 2023

Scary Fun for 2023

By Jessica MariePublished 7 months ago 3 min read
1

Halloween 2023 was so much fun, even after a lackluster October. Since David and I were planning for the Ren Faire and for our cosplays, most of my October focus went to our anniversary. It wasn't a bad thing, but I made sure to use the final days of October to focus on Halloween fun.

On Sunday (29 October 2023), David and I had an early Halloween celebration. We visited one of my grade school friends who lives around the corner from him, and admired how she decorated her house. I'm glad she and her husband came out to socialize with us for a little bit. It felt great to catch up with N, and introduce her to David. We did get some great photos, which I scrapbooked for Happiness Box 2023.

Yesterday exceeded my expectations and wildest dreams. I decided to be Jeremy the Manager cat and I asked my dad if I could borrow one of his ties. He led me to the basement and took out all of his ties. Dad wanted me to pick any one that caught my fancy. I went with a red paisley tie that is probably 40 years old. I asked dad if he could put it on me.

Dad had to go upstairs and into the bathroom to practice. He hasn't worn a tie in such a long time. He fiddled with the tie for 10 minutes, I took photos, and finally dad got it. With the cat ears and tail, I looked just like Jeremy the Manager.

Quite a few people at my full-time job dressed up. The attorneys loved my costume and they loved the office manager's costume as well. She was a hippie. Her costume was pretty funny. Many thought my costume was cute. I wished one of my friends in the DA's Office a Happy Halloween and she invited me up to see her costume.

When I went to the DA's Office, S was dressed in a costume that made her look like Elsa. She was holding a contest for people to guess who she was. She wasn't Elsa or anyone from Disney. It turns out she was the oldest Fairy God Mother - The Blue Star. She looked great. I then saw another friend, C, who was dressed as a witch from the Ren Faire. She looked great too. I took photos with both of my friends.

David picked me up and of course, we had to recreate the moment he met Jeremy the Manager. I had him scritch my head. He said, "you're lucky that I love you." We both laughed. Then we kissed and wished each other a Happy Halloween, I had to work at my library job. The library was empty and I couldn't wait for my shift to be over so I could go trick-or-treating.

A few weeks ago I told a library co-worker, T, that I was going to go trick-or-treating for a bit after I was done at the library. Since I walk home, why not? She said, “stop by. I’ll have some treats for you.” I stopped by and hung out for a little bit. It was great to chat and laugh. Her one year old granddaughter, who lives in New York, celebrated her first Halloween. Her son and daughter-in-law sent photos and T shared the adorable photos with me. It was sweet.

After, that is when I met Moth Man. Such creativity. I’m so glad the teens were good sports and didn’t mind photos. This has to be a page. The house that gave me the gluten-free dinner, they were either new neighbours or were trying to get to know their neighbours more, because as I was chatting and hanging out for a bit, they were so glad to meet me.

Last night, I mused: I know I said I wouldn’t be making whole events for the Happiness Box Project like I did in the past, but today will be an exception. Between getting photos with my friends, seeing David and laughing about my costume, then recreating when he met Jeremy, those need to be pages.

Once I looked at the card and the sentiment inside the card, I realized I could make one layout and make the photos I took smaller. I was able to make one layout with all photos and the card for Happiness Box 2023.

Halloween 2023 was awesome and so is the layout. I open Happiness Box 2023 in 2 months and I look forward to reliving Halloween.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Jessica Marie

Writing since she was six years old, but became the writer she is today in sixth grade. She has three published books and appears in various publications. When she is not writing, she is an avid photographer, scrapbooker, and artist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test7 months ago

    You really know how to capture a reader's attention. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.