Journal logo

Grocery Store Manners

The moral decline of the customer

By Casey Ann PattersonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Picture of the lines at my local post office

I am sorry to report the state of humanity is swiftly declining. I work in grocery retail and have seen my fair share of the lowest of low. Tons of people everyday try to go above and beyond to create situations so that they can make outlandish complaints just to get a few items for free. The dishonesty and slimy lengths people will go through to lie cheat and steel has me absolutely disgusted.

People have gone out of their way to place false claims against me and my fellow employees. There was one day a woman wanted our chicken sandwiches, I cannot fault her there, our chicken sandwiches are delicious. Anyway, after she placed her order my coworker remembered we are out of the chicken patties we use an she asked me to run and catch up with her so she wasn’t was wasting her time waiting. As I did so in the store she sped up and when I said excuse me mam, to get her attention she proceeded to flip out on me. Yelling “oh hell no you scared the hell out of me and then proceeded to tell me I was lying to her. I apologized profusely even though I know I did nothing wrong. I called mt manager who apparently had already been informed of the issue by this lady the next step was the confrontation. She dragged my manager back to where I worked and then the woman with the issue proceeded to call me a racist and said we were discriminating against her. I ended up having to apologies to the woman as she tried to get free products from my manager. Later I found out the woman was a regular customer who was always looking for a reason to get free products out of us.

Not Okay! Theres a lot of things in life I can just let go and let slide but calling me a racist over chicken sandwiches is farfetched and outlandish seeing that I am biracial. My father is full blooded Native American, and I grew up in a biracial household as my stepfather is a person of color. Sense I died my hair blonde because of white hairs coming in I get this a lot at work and through out life. I am at a point I just need to try to let it go but its hard. The situation I just described to you is just one of many I encounter daily. They are all very similar and frequent. I guess It does not help that I work in a store located in what would be considered the ghetto.

I have noticed most people act intitled and have no couth. Manners have gone out the window and have been replaced with scammers and people who have no regards for other people’s dignity. People will berate you over a package of meat or cheese, and there seems to be no leniency from customers. Honestly dealing with this mess has made me feel a little more than insane. When People with jobs like mine go into work we must please Corperate, our store managers, our department managers and also the irate and irrational customer.

When dealing with people who work in a grocery store type setting, please remember that we are doing or best. We have feelings too! Please do not come into the store with the attitude that you are queen or king and we are just your paid slaves. Mistakes get made and they are common. We will do the best we can to fix your situation and when treated right we will go above and beyond to make sure you have, a great experience, so please do not abuse us. Also at this time, where COVID 19 is a major issue please have a little more patience. We really are doing our best everyday to make your experience the best it can be.

workflow
Like

About the Creator

Casey Ann Patterson

A horrible speller, but and aspiring writer. Born and raised in Upstate NY. I have written many blogs on social media, mostly about spirituality. I attended Broome Community College where I was encouraged to become a free lance writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.