Journal logo

God's Redemption: A Thrifted Life Transformed

January 1, 2023 at 3:18 AM

By Erli LovePublished 10 months ago 4 min read
Like
God's Redemption: A Thrifted Life Transformed
Photo by Inga Gezalian on Unsplash

God, as my Redeemer, holds a significant place in my life. I find a parallel between my existence on earth and my attitude towards thrifting. When I engage in thrifting, I am fully aware that the items I purchase are pre-owned, already belonging to someone else. However, my primary focus is always on finding the best pieces that align with my personal style and preferences. As I step into the fitting room and gaze at myself in the mirror, the fact that these garments are secondhand, with signs of wear and imperfections, doesn't even cross my mind. Instead, I perceive them as new possessions, ready to be utilized and enjoyed. Wearing them brings me a sense of satisfaction and contentment, as I recognize their purpose and value in enhancing my self-expression. It's a feeling akin to hitting the jackpot – an affirmation that these clothing items, despite their previous ownership, contribute to my personal growth and identity. In this same way, I believe that through God's redemptive work, the old aspects of myself have been shed, making room for a transformed and renewed "me."

I express my gratitude, Abba Father, for Your unwavering presence throughout my entire life's journey. Even during those years when I had not yet fully surrendered my life to You, You were already by my side. Your constancy and faithfulness have never wavered. As one chapter closes, You faithfully initiate new beginnings, guiding me towards opportunities to touch the lives of others whom You love. Despite moments of personal failure and doubt, You continue to use me as an instrument of Your divine purpose. Even when I feel weary in my faith, questioning my worthiness or usefulness, You persist in employing me for Your greater plan. This fills me with profound gratitude and reverence, recognizing that it is not my own strength but Your grace that enables me to serve and make a difference in the lives of those around me.

Thank You, Jesus, for teaching me the importance of forgiveness and encouraging me to perceive You in every individual I encounter. By embracing this perspective, I am able to genuinely see and treat others as Your beloved creations. Just as You love me unconditionally and care for me, I strive to extend that same love and compassion to those around me. Though I may face adversity, encountering individuals who attempt to poison my mind with negativity or influence me to abandon Your ways, I remember that I am Your child, called to live by a different standard. Instead of responding with bitterness or animosity, I choose to lift them up in prayer, harboring no ill will. I am aware of the challenges presented by a world that encourages division and hatred, but I hold steadfast to Your teachings, Lord, for they guide me towards unity, understanding, and peace.

Furthermore, I have come to recognize the inherent potential and goodness within every person I encounter. I approach them with hope, acknowledging the future that God has in store for them. I extend to them the opportunity to experience the transformative power of Jesus' grace and unwavering love. No longer do I place emphasis solely on outward appearances or past experiences, but rather, I perceive each individual as someone who can embark on a new journey with God. It is not my place to deem anyone a lost cause, for I understand that God works in mysterious ways, according to His own timing and purpose. I humbly accept my role as an instrument in His hands, committed to honoring Him and patiently awaiting each person's unique, awe-inspiring, and undoubtedly certain encounter with the Lord. I trust in God's unwavering faithfulness, acknowledging that He is never late in fulfilling His promises and consistently demonstrates His love and salvation.

Abba Father, Jesus Christ, and Holy Spirit, I offer my heartfelt worship and adoration to Your holy name this morning. My heart overflows with gratitude as I bear witness to Your divine presence, even amidst the chaos and challenges of life. Your revelation in my life shines forth in a new light, illuminating my path and instilling within me a deep sense of purpose and excitement. I eagerly anticipate being continually utilized by You, not only as Your cherished child but also as a dedicated disciple. May You lead me towards more people, more places, and more open doors, presenting opportunities to share the transformative message of the Gospel. I humbly ask for Your forgiveness, Lord, for the times when both I and my fellow believers have been condemned by unbelievers, causing them to turn away from You based on their perceptions of how we live out our faith. Strengthen my faith, O Lord, and instill in me a renewed sense of purpose. Holy Spirit, guide me and correct me, molding me into a vessel fit for Your divine purpose. Lord, send me forth and use me for Your glory, that Your name may be exalted and Your kingdom extended. Amen.

advicereligion
Like

About the Creator

Erli Love

For everything comes from Him and exists by His power and is intended for His glory. All glory to Him forever! Amen. Romans 11:36

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.