Journal logo

Give Me a Vocal Challenge – And I’ll Join Even if I Don’t Win

I have more to gain and nothing to lose

By Olivia MarlenePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
12
Give Me a Vocal Challenge – And I’ll Join Even if I Don’t Win
Photo by Charles Postiaux on Unsplash

It’s embarrassing to admit but I’m like a little girl eagerly waiting for my marshmallow prize every time I join a Vocal challenge. My energy peaks up every time I’m writing a piece to submit. Honestly, I've always hoped to win. What’s the point of joining if you don’t look forward to winning? Right?

When the announcement of winners day arrives, I check my email and Vocal website around 100 times. I'm always hopeful to receive a notification that I was the lucky one. But to my despair, my name was never displayed in the list of winners.

It happened once, then twice, but I never lose hope. I still joined, lost 4 more times, and now waiting for two more stories that won’t make the cut. I knew it and I’m ok with it.

No one can’t stop me from writing for challenges. I learned so much from my defeats. They don’t bother me anymore. I received intangible rewards that won’t equate to the prize money promised to the winners.

3 Things That I Love About Vocal Challenges Even If I Don’t Win

1. The writing prompts

Vocal challenges are writing prompts that will save you time in thinking about what to write. It also gives you hints on what should be the contents of your story. All you have to do is to inject your creativity.

2. The challenge to my creativity

Joining a Vocal challenge means I have to think outside the box. I have to “answer” the challenge through a unique story or perspective. A challenge’s guidelines present itself as easy to answer on the outside but will take a squeeze on your creativity if you look deeper inside.

3. The challenge to my ability

This is my turning point. This is the reason why I will be joining a challenge even if I won’t win. It was through a Vocal challenge that I was able to conquer my limiting beliefs.

All my life I thought I couldn't write a fictional story. I have solid training in science that ended up in legal practice. Both of which involve reading and writing solid and well-researched facts. There was no room for fairy tales and imagination.

So when the black book challenge was up, I just looked at it and decided to let it slip. I don’t know how to write a fiction story and that’s it. But when someone in a Vocal member’s Facebook group encouraged us to join the challenge, I finally said, “hmmmm, maybe I can try”. And I was able to produce my very first fiction story below.

I know it won’t win but I’m proud of it. I am a winner in my eyes. I was able to break my own belief that I’m only good with straightforward writing. I was able to crush a perceived limitation and gained confidence in my writing.

BONUS: Joining a Vocal challenge will give you more views. I observed this with my entries in challenges. It’s because most of those who are also joining the challenge will read the stories. They read to check if the idea has already been taken or to get some inspiration.

I do read submitted stories in challenges. I also rate them and place my bets on who will stand out from the rest. By reading, I discover that Vocal has a lot of amazing writers. I learn by reading their stories and that’s another reward in itself

Parting words:

Losing is a learning experience. It teaches you humility. It teaches you to work harder. It’s also a powerful motivator. - Yogi Berra

So, come on Vocal friends, let’s see each other in every merry Vocal challenge party!

product review
12

About the Creator

Olivia Marlene

Member of the Legal Profession * Saving and Investing Enthusiast *Blogger * Mom * Wife

You can follow me on Facebook and Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.