Journal logo

Give Me 2 Minutes And I'll Lead You To Better Writing

To Prompt Or Not To Prompt?

By Mrz. PGPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Give Me 2 Minutes And I'll Lead You To Better Writing
Photo by Brad Neathery on Unsplash

Word on the street is that a prompt a day saves the day!

They say prompts put an end to writer's block, help you write faster, and put you on the path to being the best writer in your niche.

So when I saw that Medium was hosting Writing hour I had to test it out. This wasn’t the first time I had used prompts but I’m a student first and I like to keep my skills sharp. Learning and re-learning things will keep you open to new ideas.

Using prompts to get your writing juices flowing is an old idea and I discovered something new.

Creators Hub- One Way To Excercise Your Thoughts

At the top of the session, I was greeted by Harris Sockel and Amy Shearn who went over some simple instructions on how the workshop would go.

As Amy went over the prompt options, Harris caught my attention with the music he was queuing up. It was a hip yet mellow song almost as if coffee shop music and elevator music had a baby. Lol

I’d definitely recommend adding an instrumental track to your next writing session.

Focusing back on the task at hand I decided I wasn’t moved by any of them and came up with my own prompt.

These are the prompts I came up with during the session in case you need some inspiration of your own.

1. Which iconic TV couple best represents your Love Story?

Some of my fav’s are I Love Lucy (Lucy & Ricky), Living Single (Max & Kyle), A Different World (Dwayne & Whitley) Boy Meets World (Corey & Topanga).

2. If you could take a snapshot with the person that influenced you most who would it be? Megan Llorente, that could be a fun topic for Modern Women?

3. Do Prompts Make You a Better Writer?

4. Which Christmas holiday song would you remix? If you are really creative why not write your own song and sing it with your family.

Have fun with it you can take it where ever you want!

I settled on, Do Prompts Make You a Better Writer? because I know no matter how long you have been in the game, you are always looking for new topics to write, in search of your next “BIG” idea.

Warm-up With Writing Prompts

Think of writing prompts as the warm-up before you exercise. Before you start an intense workout, you would do a 10–15 minute warm-up to prepare your body.

The same can be said about writing prompts. According to betterscibe.com, prompts stretch your writing muscles. They help you stay focused on a specific topic, it's an opportunity to write, and it can spark ideas. It is a place to let the creative flow. A writing prompt can be as simple as a word, a picture, or a sentence so don’t limit yourself.

It’s All In The Process

Prompt writing is a great strategy to use on a writer’s journey but using it alone will NOT make you a better writer. You can’t forget that a prompt is just a tool in your toolbox. It’s one piece of the puzzle.

Becoming a better writer is a combination of ingredients. Use the ingredients to come up with the perfect receipt. It requires practice, time, and developing good writing habits. Be open to constructive criticism and look for opportunities that allow you to grow as a writer. Think of each piece of writing as a benchmark of your growth.

You might think I cheated or I didn’t follow the instructions but this was a writing exercise. Ultimately go with the prompt that gets you writing!

After all, If I hadn’t used my prompt then I wouldn't have written this. And if I hadn’t participated in the workshop then this wouldn’t have been written. So either way, it's a win-win!

If you thought this article was helpful hit the subscribe button!

how to
Like

About the Creator

Mrz. PG

My superpower is in the silver lining.

Let me show you how to see through a different lens.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.