Journal logo

Getting published in 2020 in France is the best thing that could have happened to me!

My publishing contract is valid for a year (2020-2021)

By Rachel Daphmar MombrunPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Two feminine friends smiling together just like in my book "The Blog of Melissa and Melissa"

We are currently July 14th of 2021 and I have never been much happier. I was officially published in France in 2020 and by July 31 of 2021, I will be informed of how much I have earned as a writer. My book is titled "Melissa and Melissa's Blog" under the name R. D. Mombrun and is published in French only as you can guess. It is a novella. The chosen picture for this article is supposed to portray the two main female leads of my book called respectively Melissa Gautier and Melissa Raymond.

I was so happy that I've decided to adapt my book to a comic. I have contacted a young girl named Razane in France and she had accepted to draw the comic for me in exchange of a solid contract. I was paying her and she was supposed to receive also half of the royalties that will occur once the comic was submitted to a publisher. The only trouble is that the comic would take two years to produce! I am not here to complain but I do understand that my friend who is also a full-time student like myself, lacks time to practice her hobbies. I will have to be patient before I can post that comic for the first time to Mangadraft.

I can't wait to finish writing the next adventures of the two Melissa. The second book of this trilogy will be titled "The Diary of Melissa Gautier" and the famous author Morgane Tryde even made a video about it last year that you can watch on YouTube. This video is indicated on this article for everyone to watch but it is in French only. There are only three chapters left to complete the story in 2021. It is a book that is supposed to have ten chapters in total. The third book will be titled "The Vlog of Melissa Raymond" and will be written in French only just like the two other books of the trilogy, in 2022.

I want to write a book a year and get it published as well. This is a realistic goal that I can achieve but right now I am having a writer’s block with the second book of the series that I’ve mentioned earlier. I am having trouble to write the last three chapters of “The Diary of Melissa Gautier”. I don’t know why but I have been procrastinating so much since several months now. Meanwhile, I also had exams and homeworks to complete one after another which gave me no other choice than to study for my ranking in College.

I shall write the rest of the chapters today, at least a few pages of one chapter of 10 pages should be enough. That is decided: I am writing again today on the second book of the trilogy. There is no better time to start than today even if I have exams to prepare for next week. I had submitted a fantasy story to my publisher: The Diary of HI Lake. I know that my publisher has accepted another story of mine, a children’s book titled “My cute little cats: let us do camping at home” but for some reason I feel too lazy to make the drawings to the children’s book and would rather pay somebody to illustrate the story for me. Apparently, the price for one drawing is 20 euros at least according to an artist found in a self-help Facebook group. I am saving money to be able to pay the artist within a few months because I have too many projects to complete. I will keep a secret a few of the projects I am pursuing at the moment aside of writing at least a book each year because I have a fear of failure and I prefer to attain some of my objectives quietly instead of shouting it loudly to everyone.

Finally, I invite everyone that had read me so far to follow my Facebook page titled : R. D. Mombrun écrivain and my YouTube channel under my full name Rachel Daphmar Mombrun. I am inserting the cover of my book here at the bottom of this page for everyone to see it. Thank you for reading me. Have a great day everybody and take care!

This book is available on Amazon and on Sydney Laurent websites.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Rachel Daphmar Mombrun

Hello,

I am a full-time student in paralegal technology and a part-time writer that also draws as a hobby. I like to read, exercize, watch movies, cook and play video games aside all activities. Thanks for reading me.

Have a great day!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.