Journal logo

Freelancing on Upwork

my Freelancing experince

By Monty sinha Published 4 years ago 3 min read
2

My Profile

I started working on Upwork in September 2019 I registered on the site with my basic information then I went through the profile verification first I was rejected by the website afterwards I made a better profile filling it with more details along with bank statements and information. After the profile checks and verification, I was selected on to Upwork, I was very excited for my first job.

What was my reason for my profile?

The key for being successful it was simple I treated my profile as if it was a CV I added my work experience and my education because I knew I had a better chance if I added my work and education I would get a better chance of entry and I added my profile picture to make it more better.

My First Job

After joining Upwork I started applying for jobs on the site it was a struggle to attract any customers as newcomer to the site. But I found an easy job to do which was product testing I worked on product testing where I was asked to make a purchase on Amazon.

the company was Vegan oil based where he posts on Amazon and he needed someone to test his product.

Once I have ordered the product, I waited for the product to arrive once the product had arrived I made the customer feedback for the client.

After that the client would pay me once he was pleased with my feedback, I was paid $25 for my first job and I was left a fiver star review.

I was incredibly pleased with myself I earned $25 in one day I made it my mission to get a second job so continued with my basic profile.

My Second Job

After completing my first job I hunted for my second job on Upwork again it was a struggle to get a second job on Upwork but still I waited for a client after leaving emails and texts to the job postings left the site. Again, I got a second product testing job.

This time my client was Bib maker for the elderly who wears bips in nursing homes. It was not great job still I needed the money and I needed the five-star reviews.

So, I take the job I did same thing I buy the product after I filled a form for the client. When the package arrived took the pictures as proof that the package has arrived

Then I went to amazon to make his review I gave it a five-star review of his product and recommend it to other customers. I genuinely enjoyed the customer was getting due the fact that I was making a contribute to the UK economy. After the project ended, I started search for a new project first tried to apply for a WordPress project, but it went to another developer.

How to get a job on Upwork?

You heard how I won my jobs, but I will share how to get the jobs first you need make a cover letter highlighting your skills and past jobs that you have done for previous clients. Also make a portfolio collection of logo design, HTML code and pictures with a website link so the client knows that you are a professional businessman or woman.

Why do you need a portfolio?

You need a portfolio because if you want a client take you seriously you need proof that you have worked on a project also you need samples so when the client looks at your profile he will know that you are trustworthy and reliable developer. For example, if you are logo designer you need collection of your samples to present to the client. You want to be hired by the client and give him results and get the five-star reviews by the clients.

Your profile needs to stand out!

You need make your profile stand out add your skillsets and add more information about yourself highlight your jobs. Treat your profile as CV if you can get your first job on Upwork then you can look for better jobs.

Be aware of fake jobs

To Avoid scams, Upwork has payment verification system it will tell you if the job posted is fake or a real job , many freelancing use five star rating system because they care about their freelancers and the client using the site.

My Overall Experience

My overall experience has been positive and enjoyable I will be using Upwork as long I need to use the platform.

industry
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.