Journal logo

'Freelance Writing: The Step-By-Step Guide to Easily Start Making Money Online as a Freelance Writer' | Book Review

Book review of Nadia Bentley's freelance writing book

By Stephi DurandPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
1

If you're like me, looking to learn more about the world of writing and different ways to get yourself started in this ever-growing industry, you're going to be researching what you can.

Today I bring you a review of Nadia Bentley's book Freelance Writing: The Step-By-Step Guide to Easily Start Making Money Online as a Freelance Writer.

This review is neither gifted nor sponsored.

I purchased my copy of the book on Amazon. I bought the Kindle version which cost me £2.99.

There are three options to read this book:
  • Free with Kindle unlimited
  • £2.99 on Kindle
  • £8.99 Paperback

This book consists of seven components: the table of contents, introduction, chapters one to four, and a conclusion.

Given this is a book informing you on how to get started as a freelance writer, I was really surprised to see several errors throughout the book, such as "your" and "you're" being used in the wrong places, and also "their" being used instead of "they're," too.

There was also the odd spelling mistake (hello random "o" in a sentence) and a few sentences which weren't written properly (I had to go back and reread the sentences to make sure I was reading them correctly).

The lack of paragraphs was something I struggled with. I don't think anybody enjoys reading a full page of text, because I certainly don't.

Writing needs paragraphs. One on some of these pages would've been better than none.

If I wasn't reading to try and learn about something new, I probably would've closed the book and never opened it again, all because of the lack of paragraphs.

Because there are only four actual chapters, I'm doing to discuss information on each chapter in the order they come in the book.

Chapter 1: Choosing the Top Profitable Niches

This is a chapter I enjoyed. Nadia explains to the reader why it's best to have a niche (or some niches) that you're more informed on compared to multiple topics where you only know the basics or less.

Nadia gives several suggestions on what you can write about, some information as to what's currently popular, and things you as a writer should take into consideration when it comes to certain writing work.

Personally, I believe this chapter would be great for beginners or those who have an interest in writing.

Chapter 2: Creating Your Freelance Writing Portfolio

This is the chapter I was really looking forward to. I want as much advice as possible when it comes to creating a writing portfolio.

The major problem I had with this chapter is that she never once stated what you can use to make a portfolio with.

And because of that, I still do not know.

Do I create my portfolio in a word document, saving it as a PDF and printing it off like I would with a CV? Do I use a website? Social media? I haven't a clue.

It's all well and good being told some of the things I can have on my portfolio and what will make it better, but what's the point if I don't know where I'm putting this information in the first place?

I was let down with this chapter and will be needing to find another source to answer my portfolio questions.

Chapter 3: Landing Clients

Chapter three is where the pages really became text filled, with perhaps one paragraph break every page or two.

During this chapter, Nadia gives the reader a lot of advice in regards to gaining clients, whether you have any experience or not.

I found this chapter useful, but I do wish there were more paragraph breaks to make it easier on my eyes.

Chapter 4: Start Sourcing Your Writing Works

This chapter is definitely needed for beginners.

Nadia has created some examples throughout this chapter to show you how you can easily source your work while explaining why you need to.

It may be a shorter chapter compared to the rest, but it gets across all the information you need.

Final thoughts

As a writer, I was shocked to see the errors I stated at the beginning. While as a beginner to writing as a career, I wish some parts were explained more.

I'm glad I paid the £2.99 to have the book as an eBook and not the £8.99 to have the physical copy. I don't believe the amount for the paperback is worth it, and I would've been sorely disappointed if I had paid that much.

If this is a book you're interested in trying, I'd suggest either buying the eBook or reading it through Kindle Unlimited (should you have it, of course).

Will I read this book again?

Probably not, no.

Would I recommend it?

Given how quickly I read the book, I'd be more inclined to lend my Kindle to them for an hour or two so they could read it for themselves; otherwise, it's not one I'd think to mention.

book review
1

About the Creator

Stephi Durand

Indie Author | Content Creator

'Look Up' is available to purchase at all online book retailers in Paperback and eBook.

Writing here, writing there, writing everywhere...

Instagram: @stevie_dd

Twitter: @StephiDurand

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.