Journal logo

Freelance Writing is a Lonely Profession

Unexplained and unshakable sadness

By Sherrell WritesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo by Ezekixl Akinnewu from Pexels

Have you ever felt ungrateful for feeling down? I have, and I don’t know why. I’m not broke — that broke. I am not homeless. I can order Doordash on a semi-regular basis. I am not terminally ill. My children are happy and healthy, and I have a relatively good life.

Why can’t I shake this, sadness? I can’t place it.

Let me start from the beginning. I have worked 1, or 3, full-time jobs since I was 16 years old. I am 37. I quit my full-time job as a 911 operator in October of last year because I was moving From Atlanta to Houston.

I thought that it would be easy to transition from traditional employment to freelance. I had my traditional job for about 6.5 years. On top of that, I had 1 million side hustles. I did a lot of ripping and running with my family, and I had a second part-time job.

Long story short, my days never belonged to me. I was either yelling CPR instructions, driving my little brother to work at 5 am, doing Uber at 2 am or running 15 minutes late to my other dispatch job.

I didn’t have time to plan what I would actually do if given the chance to be a writer full time. And now that I have this opportunity, thanks in part to my wonderful fiancé, I’m terrified I’ll fail. I don’t know how to set my own schedule. It is daunting trying to find dedicated time to write. And I have imposter syndrome.

I know that this mentality is systemic. When I told a family member as a child that I wanted to be a writer, they laughed and flat out told me that I would be broke. (I still want to punch him in the face for that.)

I don’t know why I let the family crack head affect me so much, but I still hear that today. I don’t know what to do with myself half of the time. The other half, I spend second-guessing myself.

I can’t shake this funk. I thought that it was just because I moved to a new state after being in my hometown my whole life. I thought that it was because I am adjusting to my newfound “freedom”.

Hell, I even thought I was finally losing my mind because of the pandemic.

I am beginning to realize that I am afraid that the aforementioned family member will turn out to be right. But you know what, I am going to write anyway.

I have worked with a fever, dealt with sexist bosses, and traversed taking 3 buses and 2 trains in sketchy neighborhoods all for jobs I hated. I finally get what I always thought that I wanted, and it is a bit — anti-climactic.

I can’t deal. I feel like an ungrateful, entitled child. I think that I am so used to being tired, overworked, and underpaid that I can’t deal with my new life. I mean, I have only been freelancing full-time for 9 months.

However, during those 9 months, I packed up and moved 4 states away. I had to deal with Texas freezing over. I had to furnish and arrange my new apartment while making sure my kids graduated with good grades.

I have only been able to dedicate the needed amount of time to my writing since March.

I was writing this with the hopes that I am not alone. Have any of you felt like you didn’t deserve where you are? Have you ever had a sadness that you couldn’t shake? Do you ever get family members thinking that your writing isn’t a “real job”? How do you move past that?

I still don’t have answers. Thank you for reading this. Writing this helped a bit. I look forward to your comments.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Sherrell Writes

I am a new freelancer who is documenting her journey for others that feel like they have no idea what they're doing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.