Journal logo

Everyday Heroes: A Nurse And A Pharmacist Walk Into Work

Why? Because they're essential.

By Christina St-JeanPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
3
https://d3n8a8pro7vhmx.cloudfront.net/teamsters117/pages/3728/meta_images/original/KR_duo-thumb.jpg?1502828378

I grew up surrounded by nurses and, come to think about it, there were a few pharmacists I came to know growing up as well. It was very much a part of my world to see my mother, who was a palliative care nurse, getting ready to see clients, or writing reports, or going to see pharmacists about things that her clients might have needed.

I never would have anticipated seeing nurses and pharmacists alike, working in the midst of one of the largest pandemics to hit the globe in 20 years to the point of exhaustion. One of my dearest friends works in a long term care facility, and she is quite likely one of the best nurses I know. She lives and breathes her job; she wants what is the absolute best for her residents and works tirelessly to ensure their safety and comfort.

The COVID-19 pandemic has, in her words, "terrified" her, and with good reason. She's got an autoimmune condition, and one of her two children has a fragile immune system as well. She's dealing with families who are understandably concerned, a staff that is a running a bit short for a range of reasons, and her own worries about the continued good health of both her and her family. These are scary times, scarier still if you are a front line worker, and she puts her scrubs on and works her tail off anyways. She continues to put on a good front for her family to prevent them from worrying further than they need to about her, and swallows her own discomfort from her own autoimmune condition down. She knows she has a job to do, and does everything she can to prevent herself from being further at risk than she already is, in addition to making things right in taking care of her residents on a daily basis.

I don't know how she does it; I get grumpy when my back is sore or when I stub my toe. To live with persistent physical discomfort while putting myself at risk on an ongoing basis, as helpful as I want to be, is something that I might struggle doing, if I was to be completely honest. I'm not a nurse, and I know she's doing this because that's where her heart is. She cares for her residents in the same way she would a family member, and knowing this virus is out there, potentially ready to take one of her residents, her family members or even herself still doesn't stop her. Granted, as a nurse, she is an essential worker, but if I know my friend, she'd go in regardless. I love her for the sacrifice she and other nurses are making, and completely admire her for it.

My other friend is a pharmacist who has bent over backwards to ensure she's been able to meet every challenge that the restrictions and the fears about this virus has put on the public head on. She's checked in regularly with her staff to see how they're doing, she's worked in multiple areas of her store in order to ensure things keep running smoothly in addition to trying to squeeze in time to do her own paperwork and get home at a decent time in order to get something resembling rest. She's put in a whole lot of extra time in order to ensure orders and paperwork go in smoothly, reading to understand the rapidly changing protocols as far as the virus goes and how that will affect her store's operation, and still trying to get something resembling rest at the end of the day. She hits the ground running every day and frequently has been working several days at a stretch in order to help support her staff. She's got stresses hitting her from every angle and does not shy away from any of the challenges that are currently facing her daily in the midst of COVID-19.

I admire her for her dedication and am inspired by her tireless efforts. I could only hope to have that sort of tenacity in the midst of this sort of crisis. I realize that as an essential worker, she has little choice but to persevere, but the perseverance she and so many others in this position have shown is truly incredible.

So, to her, my friend the nurse, and so many others working in the midst of these unprecedented times, know that you're appreciated. Know that I admire and respect you. Finally, to my friend the pharmacist and my friend the nurse: thank you.

heroes and villains
3

About the Creator

Christina St-Jean

I'm a high school English and French teacher who trains in the martial arts and works towards continuous self-improvement.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.