Journal logo

Dr. Shawna Charles

PR Influencer

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Dr. Shawna Charles (Provided Photo)

Dr. Shawna Charles is a recognized thought leader and strategist providing communication guidance to her clients helping them protect, promote, and evolve their brand. Her leadership is solution-driven: combining ingenious thinking and strategic planning for businesses, campaigns, organizations, and individuals. As an industry influencer, Dr. Charles is the creator and the founder of Information Xchange Group, a public relations agency focusing on crisis management, reputation management, public relations, and community engagement. She is a graduate of Howard University and holds a Master of International Business Administration and a Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology. She has been recognized by the City of Los Angeles, University of Southern California, and New York Rescue Mission among other organizations for work she has done in the community.

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Dr. Shawna Charles (Provided Photo)

Tammy Reese:

What inspired you to become an entrepreneur?

Dr. Shawna Charles:

I had worked in corporate America for over 15 years and the company I worked for merged with another company. This made me look inward and figure out what was best for me going forward. That’s when I decided to take a chance on myself and create a company based on my skills, talents, strengths, and personality.

Tammy Reese:

What do you love most about the work that you do?

Dr. Shawna Charles:

What I love most about the work that I’m doing is it allows me to work creatively solving problems. I am an out-of-the-box thinker and I enjoy the power of influence.

Tammy Reese:

Please tell me about your PR agency?

Dr. Shawna Charles:

It took me a while to form a PR agency. It made me realize that when people use the expression, “It is about the journey” that it is truly about the journey. I started out coaching but decided that wasn’t all I wanted to do. So, I took some time to really figure out what it was I wanted to do and why. This is how I came up with the “Information Xchange Group,” because I realized I enjoy reading, influencing, and creating stories. Stories that are created by thinking outside of the box. This is exactly what we do for our clients and in turn, they protect, promote, and evolve their brands.

Tammy Reese:

What types of clients do you work with?

Dr. Shawna Charles:

We don’t just work in the typical PR sectors (fashion, beauty, entertainment, etc.), but we also work with law firms, individuals, government officials, non-profits, and corporations.

Tammy Reese:

How has the pandemic shaped your day-to-day life?

Dr. Shawna Charles:

You know this is a great question. The pandemic has actually been beneficial because it forced the team and I to slow down. It has also allowed us to revisit, reevaluate our clientele, our business strategy, and how we want to show up in the market.

What it has also done for me, is it has allowed me to realize how much I enjoy working from home (but also how much I miss going to another location). By working from home, I’ve realized that there is really no separation. By that I mean, every emotion and feeling I have or experience at work, I also experience at home so I try to make sure that I balance my day-to-day work.

Tammy Reese:

What are you currently working on?

Dr. Shawna Charles:

Currently, we are working with a few nonprofits to help them create their brands and campaigns. We just finished working with a law firm, helping them with their PR as well.

Tammy Reese:

What are you looking forward to in the coming year?

Dr. Shawna Charles:

When you say, “the coming year,” I feel so overwhelmed. I’m just trying to take it day-by-day. I'm definitely looking forward to how we move forward as a society and what that means for PR (the approach and impact). I think the pandemic has helped with the value proposition of PR. Public Relations was once seen as a luxury, where now it's seen as a necessity. So, I'm looking forward to helping clients assimilate to that change.

Tammy Reese:

What are some of the most memorable moments in your career so far?

Dr. Shawna Charles:

I don’t know if I have a most memorable moment, but what I can say is that I have met and worked with some great people. What keeps me going is the creativity in what we do, which makes moments memorable for me.

Tammy Reese:

What have been some challenges?

Dr. Shawna Charles:

The pandemic has been a challenge for almost everyone. There are a lot of PR firms, branding firms, advertising firms, so being a new company trying to make its mark in the industry has been a challenge. However, I have been blessed to have networked before the pandemic, so I have been able to receive business through referrals.

Tammy Reese:

What else can we be on the lookout for from you?

Dr. Shawna Charles:

Lookout y’all, here I come! I will be kicking off a podcast called The Utter Perspective, where we talk about life. It’s a space where we will talk about things that most people experience but don’t really talk about. The goal is to normalize things that don’t seem normal through conversation. I also have (It’s going to sound crazy) another business called Bolster Up Business, which helps small businesses. It is not necessarily helping with PR, but with branding. Before PR can even happen, you have to have a brand.

The one thing the pandemic has taught me is that many micro and small businesses don’t necessarily have their branding together. Being a small business owner myself, I understand the importance of that. So, the least I could do is share my knowledge and expertise at a reasonable rate. On top of that, I will be speaking and hosting panels and webinars this year. Another thing I’ve learned through the pandemic is that many people have started teaching. I have learned so much through webinars, freebies, Instagram lives, YouTube, etc. It feels like I’ve gone back to school. I will be doing my part to give back through education and experience.

Tammy Reese:

What advice would you have for anyone who wants to get into PR?

Dr. Shawna Charles:

Just do it. Understand the difference between marketing, advertising, and public relations. Make sure that it is actually PR that you want to do because even though they overlap, there is a distinction. Also, be open to other types of PR. I know that entertainment, fashion, beauty, and lifestyle are “sexy” PR industries, but there are so many other avenues. Think about what you enjoy, what you offer your clients, what doesn’t completely stress you out (because you will be stressed), and go after that, but be open to other opportunities when they present themselves. Also, don’t forget to digitally network and meet people who are in your field. Most importantly, do not be afraid to collaborate. It may cost you a few dollars, but you will learn and meet connections along the way that can help you grow.

Learn more about Information Xchange Group HERE.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.