Journal logo

Don't Forget Your Hyperbolic Paraboloid Snacks While You Read

It takes a ‘supercomputer’ to get this right

By Lynda CokerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Image by Thomas B. from Pixabay

Your average, unsullied Pringle is a hyperbolic paraboloid; its equation is (x²)/(a²) — (y²)/(b²) = z/c. Here’s where things get interesting, though (as if hyperbolic paraboloids weren’t interesting enough). Proctor & Gamble doesn’t just shove a bunch of Pringles in a can and call it a day. Rather, they use supercomputers to keep conditions just right to make sure the chips make it from their factory to your house unmolested. ~Source

I hope you found that as interesting as I did. Life is just full of technology-enhanced bits of fun. Don’t you just wish you could get into the head of the person who dreamed this up? Their problem-solving skills are way more superior to mine.

What problems you may ask? How to get a lot of chips into a small cylinder, is one. Since they stack tightly together, space is efficiently utilized.

How to keep chips from breaking and crumbling in the package? Since they stack tight, one on top of the other in an appropriate cylinder packaging, it prevents movement and therefore, breakage. Genius!

The double curvature of the Pringles chip also allows it to maintain integrity despite being very thin. ~Source

But the most awesome aspect of this Hyperbolic Paraboloid shaped snack to me is its ability to scoop into my favorite dip and bring out a large mouthful of deliciousness.

This yummy bit of technology comes in lots of flavors and is a great companion when engrossed in your favorite reading material. And just so you won't run out, here' my recommended list.

Lynda's reading recommendations:

Launched from their ordinary lives into an unprecedented set of circumstances, eight young adults find their dreams and hopes for the future, including their free will, have all but vanished. One thread of commonality forces them to forge an alliance, one that is tasked to do the impossible… Read the entire story here.

I get sad every time I hear a person say, “I don’t read.” It’s like saying, “I don’t learn,” or “I don’t laugh,” or “I don’t live.” ~Source

Doesn’t that quote go straight to your heart? I often say, “I write to breathe.” But my love of reading is as essential. And isn’t it true that through reading we are forever learning? And on those sad and troublesome days, isn’t it wonderful to laugh along with a zany character in a good novel?

_____________

“It’s an unchangeable truth that we can’t change the whole world, but we can change our world, the world we create in our minds and heart. Through that change, we can then change our mindset, attitudes, habits, environment, etc.”

____________

Have you read some Vocal Challenge stories lately

Being a new writer on Vocal, I'm still learning the landscape. And when I saw the challenges Vocal sponsors, I was excited and scared at the same time. I've never entered writing challenges or contests in the past, so why am I doing that now?

Here are my reasons:

  1. Makes me write to a deadline which improves my focus
  2. Makes me write about themes I ordinarily wouldn't think about
  3. Makes me stretch my imagination
  4. Introduces me to new writers through reading their Challenge stories
  5. Gets me out of a writing rut and eliminates writer's block
  6. Puts some treasure-seeking adventure into my writing schedule

Here are two stories I entered into Vocal Challenges

At the time of this writing, these challenges haven't been judged yet so I can't let you know my standing. But if anything spectacular happens, rest assured, I will write about my challenge experience.

1st Challenge—'Fresh Start'

This writing challenge is all about putting the last year behind us and reaching ahead to establish a better and more balanced life, a fresh start, as it were. My story is about taking personal responsibility for that change.

2nd Challenge: 'Little Black Book'

Vocal is partnering with Moleskine to offer this unique and fun challenge in the realm of fiction writing. With just two required story elements, a little black book and $20,000, this is indeed an adventurous challenge. My story is about a young woman who, after receiving those two things, sets out to challenge her benefactor.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Lynda Coker

Grab a chair, turn a page, and read a while with me. I promise to tap lightly on my keyboard so we both can stay immersed in our world of words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.