Journal logo

Diary of a Hairstylist

Thoughts of a Canadian stylist during a global pandemic

By Janna MargaretPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
3
Diary of a Hairstylist
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Today I feel compelled to share my thoughts.

I just watched a video made by a Hairstylist in GA, one of the first states to re-open salons during the pandemic. It was extremely well done and informative. It shows all of the policies and procedures put in place to "safely" open a salon during the pandemic. This particular stylist works out of a single chair suite, not unlike my old studio in Hamilton, Ontario.

The space was prepped as if it were a surgery room. Every single thing and surface sanitized and organized in labelled containers. New UV air purifyer. Stylist clad in mask, face shield, and apron, to be changed after each client. Checking the temperature of each client. Waivers signed. Stylist completely changed out of her work clothes and shoes before getting into her car to go home... And that's about half of what the video detailed.

Just watching it made my chest tighten and my shoulders creep towards my ears. My initial thoughts were, how is this worth it?? The added cost of supplies... So much more time and labour... All so that people can get their grays covered. Maybe it's because I'm a more natural-focused hairstylist, but it kind of boggles my mind.

Then the feeling of being SO FUCKING GRATEFUL that my country and my province have not put me in that position.

Many of the stylists in the states have the immense pressure of making the impossible decision to either resume their occupation or have no income. The occupation they are returning to is not the same as it was. It is now a high-risk position with even more demands. Just like here, the income of a stylist depends on how many people sit in our chair every day. Hence the pressure to work long hours with minimal breaks and care for multiple clients at once.

Well, multiple clients at once is no longer a thing. Plus add 20-30 minutes between each appointment to clean and sanitize... Will the pay structure of these workers change to reflect the significant changes to the industry they work in? Some will have the power and confidence to raise their prices, some will not. Some will have the luxury of even considering these factors, some will not.

Stylists are often timid about pricing their services and charging their worth. It is the one trade where some clients seem to think they should have a say in how much money the tradesperson makes. I can't tell you the number of times people have questioned my or my salon's prices, truly expecting to be given a discount because... why?? (A whole other topic to explore.)

I REALLY HOPE that these stylists who are being forced back to work are able to make a fair wage and are met with the huge gratitude and love that they deserve.

And I'll leave it at that so that this may be a message of hope.

humanity
3

About the Creator

Janna Margaret

Creative human. Guided by compassion.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.