Journal logo

Dark Side of the Moon

Premonition

By JGasceyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Dark Side of the Moon
Photo by Shot by Cerqueira on Unsplash

Sun peaking through the window, I swing my legs around to the side of the bed. Thinking of the song by Too Short, “Gettin It”, I need all the motivation I can muster to get up. It's going to be a long day, but as usual there is no time to complain. Normally the day starts off slow, but I can feel the storm brewing, which makes me think of another one of my favorite songs on my playlist “Quiet Storm” by Mobb Deep. I'm a merchandiser for Dr Pepper so I usually get through the day by throwing my headphones on and getting to work. Since I have all these songs already in my head, it’s time to put on my playlist. I get out my car to go inside my first store, and it's some weird dust in the air almost like pollen. Anyway, I don't pay it any real attention because it’s time to get to work. First song to start the grind is “Push it” by Rick Ross, my everyday selection to get my mind right for the day ahead.

After 3 brutal hours in my 1st store, I'm done. I head to the restroom to wash my hands, grab me a Red Bull for the energy I’ll need for what’s to come. Walking to my car, I can’t help but think to myself “there goes that damn dust again”. Ironically as I get in the car, “Runaway” by J. Cole is on. I can definitely relate because that's what I feel like doing. No time to mope; by the time I snap back to reality, I’m at my 2nd store. I get out the car and shake my head. I'm going to have to wash my car when I'm done with my shift. The dust is thicker than pollen, but I’m not feeling any signs of my allergies flaring up. I get inside the store and begin filling the shelves and helping some customers find the Dr Pepper flavor of soda they're looking for. Even though it takes time, I'm still a helpful person so I do the good deed. I start to see people looking at their phones; some with a confused look on their faces while others look frightened. I'm not a very curious or nosy person so I pay it no mind and continue doing my job. The light flickers and an announcement on the intercom alerts shoppers that the store will be closing soon due to an electrical problem. This is my cue so I finish up and head outside. The parking lot is really empty for this time of day and I notice people staring at the sky. It now dawns on me the dust from earlier must be what has them concerned. I also get a cell phone alert, similar to what all the people in the store were so shook up about. Turns out I should have been paying more attention to people's demeanor and asking them what was going on, but my nonchalant attitude got the best of me. Staring at the sky, it looks just like the song on my playlist says, “the sky is falling down” by Jay Sean. Quickly, I call my wife and kids. They're probably still sleeping as it’s typical for them sleep in on Sunday mornings because they all usually stay up late on Saturday nights. No answer so I'm driving frantically to get home. I'm trying to pay attention to the road but can't keep my gaze in front of me. The moon appears to have broken apart and is falling towards Earth, but at the same time the sun is still out. The sunlight is significantly brighter than it normally is for mid-mornings in Houston. This is the weirdest thing I've ever seen. People are going crazy out here making it even harder to maneuver through the parked cars and people standing in the middle of the road just staring at the sky. I finally get home, and as I rush to my front door and open it....(SOUND OF AN ALARM RINGING) I jump up in a panic and it was all a dream, DAMN I'm late for work!!! Takes me a minute to get my wits together, WHOA THAT DREAM WAS CRAZY. It must have been the song I fell asleep listening to on my playlist, “The Sound of Silence” by Disturbed. I laugh to myself at the same time thinking how fortunate it is that what I experienced was just a dream. I can't wait to tell my wife about it when she gets up.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

JGascey

Writing is the outlet. The therapist listening to your trauma without the dreaded couch of shame and tape recorder. A shot of therapy without the slurred power of alcoholic influences but just as intoxicating as the pen hits the paper.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.