Journal logo

Daddy your daughter is heartbroken

It hurts Daddy

By Doreen kwakye Published 10 months ago 4 min read
4
Daddy your daughter is heartbroken
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Dear Daddy,

I know I should have told you about him, honestly I wanted to, the only issue is I didn’t know what I was doing just is more of a reason why I should have told you.

Daddy, your baby girl has gotten her heart broken. She is shattered and devastated, I never knew this kind of pain existed, it feels like my heart is been cut with a blunt knife while been ripped out at the same time. Only love can hurt like this.

And again I admit it, I should have told you about him. I was scared though that you won’t have approved of it; first of all you may have said it was too early and that I should focus on my education and there was the issue of our religious differences, I didn’t know how you were going to react to that, mommy would have said no straight up, I guess that’s why I never told her, I mentioned him to her several times though, never actually told her that he was more than just a friend.

That is a lot of chitchat, what did he actually do? I don’t know where to start from Daddy, I am still processing the whole ordeal. I don’t know if I have the right to say that he cheated on me because I was actually the second person he was dating.

He already had someone else in his life, I was his second fiddle. I don’t know what I have done to him to deserve this from him. He looked at me in the eyes and lied to me on countless occasions, all those promises, all those assurances were based on nothing but lies.

Do you know the funny part? He doesn’t look the part, he isn’t perfect but he was mine. He had his faults and failures but he was still mine, he understood me, he was always with me, whether in person or on phone, I wonder how he gets time for her, they barely talk yet he still loves her. That might be really nice, being away from her most of the time, not getting to talk to her, not getting to see her and even getting a second fiddle to fill up her space but still holding on her and loving her to death.

You might think that I should have seen the signs, why didn’t I act on them? Why did I allow it to get to this point? Yes Daddy, there were signs, I did see them I just didn’t understand them, I never thought my John was capable of doing such a thing so I kept ignoring them, I still remember the discomfort clearly displayed on his face the first time I asked him who she was, I could have sworn there was panic written all over his face, in retrospect I now understand why.

He told me, she was his brother’s girlfriend 😂, real funny, I believe it too. And there are all those times she would call him, not once not twice not even thrice in a row but he would never answer in my presence but he can answer anyone else’s phone call in my presence. I used to ask him why she was constantly calling him, she is just calling to say hi, he would say. I don’t talk to your brother that often so why is she constantly calling you? That’s how things are done at my place, it is no big deal don’t overthink it, he would say. And as foolish and naive as I was I would believe it.

Did I mention that I was hidden away from his friends? Apart from friends who knew as both, no one else from his side knew us, apart his brother. I remember asking why you never post me on your status or use me for anything of yours that is public, do you know his excuse? He isn’t a sellout, he can’t draw attention to what he holds dear and that he is private.

Daddy I wish you could see it, he has her pictures all over anything and everything he can post her pictures on, from his wallpaper on both his phone and laptop to his WhatsApp wallpaper to even his WhatsApp dp, what happened to him being private? What happened to him not being a sellout? The sad part is I didn’t think anything of it when I first saw it, because I trusted him, after everything came up, he has unsaved my number so that he can post another picture of hers on his dp so that I don’t see it.

I’m not really devastated about the whole cheating thing, I’m devastated by the fact that he’s sorry, he has said sorry but it’s more or less saying sorry for sorry sake but not because he actually feels the pain he has cost. Daddy, I have to go now, I have a class to attend, I will continue later. I’m so sorry for not informing you earlier, this whole thing won’t have gotten out of hands if I did, take care Daddy, love you to the moon and back

Love,

Your daughter, Akosua.

religionliteraturehumanityfact or fictionadvice
4

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.