Journal logo

Cup Of Hope

With Extra Love For You

By nobodyPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
sharing

Cup Of Hope With Extra Love For You by Mr. Darek Michael Lucero

Noticing the dark circles around your eyes I knew you were faking your smile. I could only wonder what or who was the cause of your tears prior to my entrance in your days. You never ceased to amaze me by how carefully you would attempt to hide your sorrow with makeup, smiles, compliments, encouragement, etc. Regardless of your life ‘falling apart’ ...Lovely, you always have betterment of others at your core.

Love, it’s time someone was just as loving towards you as you are with others. I know that’s why I finally met you face-to-face.

The intent of others to keep us separated has renewed me to continue to be a man….proud transmale... in a still ‘bullying’ society of adults who choose to behave as though they were in potty training pants.

What I remember most one day about your ‘nearly hidden tear stained’ face has stayed in my memory for nearly three years.

Winter’s grip was slowly loosening with each day passing at higher temperatures grouped with an increase in sunny days. I could feel the warmth seeping into the frigid mindset of others. The thaw was in process.

This day I visited you (post invite of course) I brought along some trinkets of treasure with me. This office location was known for less than adequate results from peer-to-peer. The client base was solid; however, staff morale and productivity was waning.

Your schedule for today was sporadic and your walk-ins were minimal. As usual looking over your client list versus your fellow co-workers was challenging to only those who were unaware of my qualifications that paired well with your personal knowledge about the office inhabitants. You never needed to remind me about what you are qualified for.

Entering the building, security greeted me with the usual,

“Mr. Jones. Good to see you today.”

“How is today proceeding.”

“Sir, the overall tone has been tense,”

“Has the team been compliant with the implementation of the new 'Checks and Balances system'?”

“No, Sir.”

“Thanks for letting me know. I appreciate you. I do hope your day improves.”

“Thank you, Sir.”

“Alex, thank you for your service to this company. I hope your generous and respectful sentiments are returned to you.”

Entering the elevator I knew what your mood was and why I felt it necessary to check in on you. Pressing the number for your floor I could smell the coffee I was holding. I had hope that this cup was full of more than joy for today.

The elevator doors opened with their usual whoosh. The receptionist greeted me with her knowing smile and greeted a quick,

“She’s waiting for you in the main conference room. The meeting is already in progress.”

“Thanks, Elizabeth, I appreciate the information. I hope your day improves too.”

Stopping briefly at your office to put some items on your desk I moved down the hall to the conference room. The location of your office from your private entrance was a perk I believed to be one of the best negotiations in your agreeing to work at this organization's location.

Approaching this particular part of the building was an advantage for management because those seated could not see people approaching the meeting room. Meeting my eyes you flickered a ‘oh-finally-you’re-here’ look I knew quite well. I responded by raising the cup of coffee in my hands. The private sensation I felt was enough for me to know I did something correct.

Opening the door to numerous surprised and further shocked faces, I could hear a stammering individual continue their tirade of excuses.

Without breaking stride I approached you with the coffee and handed you the document that was reserved for our ‘silent’ greetings in such moments.

You read the proffered paper while sipping your coffee. Setting down the cup and picking up your pen,

“Jeff, please continue.”

“Mrs. Jones, I don’t…”

You began to write in the blanks provided on the silent communication we arranged for your ‘such’ moments.

While Jeff rudely interjected I winked and whirled to respond.

“Mr. Smith, may I call you Jeff. I understand you have issue with the new processes Mrs. Jones is implementing.”

“Well...yes,”

“Jeff, before you interrupt further..and Mrs. Jones if I may with your permission…(you nodded your approval)...I will restate differently the intent of this ‘New Normal’ methodology.”

“well...okay but..Mrs. Jones..”

“Mr. Smith, Mr. Jones is THE top consultant in the area. I highly recommend you listen to what he has to say. And, I would like to add that Mr. Jones is a man. His preferred pronouns are: he, him, and his. Please do NOT address him as you would me. Mr. Jones, please continue.”

“Thank you, Mrs. Jones.”

The tone in the room changed to one less tense and one of curiosity.

“Ladies and Gentlemen,…” I began.

“The ‘New Normal’ is designed to recognize each team member’s qualified life experience and academic documented accomplishments. These details are to prevent alienation of personnel. The goal is to enhance the overall performance of this organization from us to our external and internal clients.”

Keeping my rhythm I continued to speak with the room.

“For example, Jeff you have extensive experience with client and employee retention especially during crises.”

“That is true, Mr. Jones.”

“In addition, Georgina has experience with high personnel and high client turnover during less productive quarters which trigger profit slumps.”

Seeing the puzzled look on Georgina’s and Jeff’s faces I proceeded through the room.

“Tina in Billing and Mark in Accounting both have experience with regard to profit and loss in any market trend.”

More people put their phones down and started looking at me.

“Diane and Luke in Research and Development have prior knowledge about meeting public demand versus timely deliverables on our products and services. Just last week we had a conversation about how the department exceeded expectations of both the client side and the provider side during this past pandemic year.”

Diane and Luke nodded their mutual agreement.

“Mr. Jones what does this have to do with today’s meeting?”

“Jeff, I have not finished. Please... hold your questions.”

Smirking a scowl Jeff picked up his phone.

“Jeff, what have you implemented to keep your department’s morale buoyant?”

“What do you mean?”

“What are you doing as department manager/supervisor to keep your employees happy?”

“Well...nothing.”

Sending you a silent wink I proceeded.

“Jeff, do you know what team building exercises are?”

“No.”

“Jeff, do you know what a mani/pedi is?”

“No.”

Picking up a piece of paper from my file I walked over to Diane and Georgina. The smiles on both their faces was the motivation I needed to move forward.

“Jeff, I have arranged a meeting for you and other male staff members to meet with Diane and

Georgina in about twenty minutes.”

“For what.”

“The men are going on a 'Spa Day' with the ladies.”

‘Spa Day’ some of the men mouthed. ‘Spa Day’ some of the women mouthed with grins. Excited sighs and relieved smiles were’ popping’ up around the room. Seeing your internal laugh I began speaking again.

“Ladies and Gentlemen, this group has had zero time off in the last two quarters of 2020. That is approximately 2000 hours per person that each and every member of this work site has put forth. Additionally, the hours spent off the clock at home obviously increases that figure. Those of you with any sort of personal time have spent more work effort with each other and less fun with your friends and families. Please, I encourage you all...take the remainder of the day to get to know one another on a personal level while in a relaxing environment. Ask non-work related questions. Have fun. Snack. Whatever. There is zero expense to y’all. This a gift from Mrs. Jones to all of you. There is a package for each department head to have a similar day (on a different date) with a department of our choosing. Supervisors and Managers you will not have a spa day with your department. Instead you will be getting to know your ‘competing’ department. We both are hoping to create cohesiveness instead of division. Once finished we will regroup next month for a ‘lessons learned’ session.”

Stepping aside to give you back the room, I notice your relaxed expression.

“Folks, the remainder of this week is to have paid time off for you to share with friends and family. Live and breathe anything and everything but work. Please proceed to your offices, gather your belongings, and get to this ‘appointment’ as soon as possible. You are all dismissed. No, Jeff, this is a ‘you need to participate’ or ‘hand over your resignation’ moment. Thank you, Jeff. The transportation is waiting for you to board as well. Folks, the people waiting with the buses will bring you back to pick up your vehicles or take you to a destination of your choosing. Please do not keep everyone else waiting. Bye and please have fun, Jeff.”

While the room emptied we walked over to the exit reserved for your office and proceeded to sit down to eat the food I brought with me. The rest of the week seemed to be better already.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

nobody

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.