Journal logo

Creators Of Universes, Weavers Of Our Times

With Great Power Comes Great Responsibility.

By Sarah St.ErthPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4
Creators Of Universes, Weavers Of Our Times
Photo by Photos by Lanty on Unsplash

The old addage “The Pen Is Mightier Than the sword” has been plaguing me to answer its laments in a very insistent way. A journaler at heart, I am a person who has recorded her actions, choices, errors, victories, and challenges as my writing outlet prior to joining Vocal for the Little Black Book challenge. This was a massive inspiration for me. I saw the advert, and I went straight at it. The outcome of that, was a 6 part (with 7 and 8 in the works) Sci-Fi adventure that displays a lot of where my heart goes, in terms of my wishes for the human archetype and evolution.

Through that experience, of creating a reality I wished for, even though I did not win, the joys of expression were renewed in me. Huge Win!

I have my trope, and I am happy to display it in thousands of different ways, always though, with the imagining that my written words are secretly weaving my wishes into our reality.

In the midst of this Very Inspiring Summer fiction challenge for the newly launched Fiction Communtiy on Vocal, I am once again inspired and wrestling with the many stories clamouring for expression. The infinite combinations of each prompt melding and expanding as a zygot becomes embryo; and I realize the power in my hands. The words that will be spoken in the minds of any reader who comes across my work. The sense of responsibility I feel, reminds me of the purpose and meaning of the above mentioned addage.

These four stories, for the Summer Fiction Challenge; combine all 8 prompts; again displaying my trope shamelessly, and abundantly. I do this unapologetically, for the kicks of even one person reading them, hopefully at least hundreds. Even one though, and the seeds of a potentially exponential expansion have been initiated.

In truth this article is an exercise in clearing my mind, like an excerpt from my own journal, or at least inspired by its process and intent. Also to combine my fiction stories in one place.

To clarify my mind, fire my imagination, and wax poetic about the many thoughts that are stampeding through my overworked, and underpaid brain.

Fiction is so much fun for me, due to the essentially limitless nature of it. Though the journaler in me requires the stabilization of what I call “discourse with self.”

In fact that has been my opening phrase on every journal entry for 25 years. With variances like “what the fuck self” or “good job self!”

My gen likes to spell it all out, none of this wtf expletive replacement. Yes it may sound uneducated to swear, but I actually find it an intelligent way to sum things up from time to time.

What it boils down to, is that the factual life events recorded in my journals have fueled the many, many, stories that I see in my mind as possible, full of potential, and brimming with positive outcomes to the many challenges of life in the rising frequency of reality.

Engaging the imaginations of people is a very appealing pastime for me, and though I spend many, many, hours weekly, building realities to entertain, so far none have garnered me a top story, or challenge win. The grappling nature of competition is unappealing, but the drive to sow seeds of possibility always wins. Even when I don’t. My Doomsday Diary entry sparked my second most read story on Vocal, and so I conclude that while victory has not been mine, the ever loving potential of humans is a subject I will continue to explore for any, and all who wish to enjoy the fictional characters I create.

With many thanks for your time in reading my works, please like, and share if you do enjoy them.

feature
4

About the Creator

Sarah St.Erth

BC Born activist, Mother & Grandmother. Raised in Music and counter culture. My Pen name is an ode to my matrelineal lineage. Sign up for Vocal plus here

https://vocal.media/challenges/the-vocal-fiction-awards?via=sarah-wareing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.