Journal logo

Copywriting Vs. Content Writing

What's the difference, which pays more, and can I be both?

By Kennedy MontecuePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
Copywriting Vs. Content Writing
Photo by Amelia Bartlett on Unsplash

Recently, I've decided to take my freelance career to the next level by adding the position of copywriter to my resume. I'm not as experienced in it as blogging and content writing, but I am quickly learning the ways of this form of marketing.

What's the difference between Copy and Content Writing?

This is something I wondered before I started researching and studying to become a copywriter. Before I gained knowledge on the subject, I thought it all had something to do with people needing help filing Copyright information for them. I couldn't have been more wrong.

Copywriting-

Copywriting is a form of marketing and advertising. Its sole purpose is to generate sells yours or the client's company. It could be Facebook or Instagram ads, newsletter ads, Seminar scripts, e-mails, etc. Its intent is to generate money with the persuasion of that said written copy ad.

Content Writing-

Content writers are bloggers, youtube scriptwriters, social media posts, captions, and so on and so forth. There sole intent to create engaging articles and or blog posts to yours or the client's blog or website.

To put it in simpler terms

Copywrite= Writing to sell and convert

Content writing= Writing to engage and convert

What are the Yearly Salary Differences?

This is the part I'm pretty sure you've been waiting to read. Let's be completely honest here. We as writers love what we do. If we didn't, we wouldn't spend numerous hours a day crafting the perfect articles for our blogs or spend hours drafting a novel. But also, we know our work is valuable and worth paying for.

According to my research, the approximate yearly salary for content writers is 45k to 50k whereas a copywriter's estimated salary 60k to 71k.

As I stated, this is only an estimate. It completely depends on the company you work for and what numbers you negotiated.

What about for freelancers?

If you're a freelancer it's completely up to how much you charge for both professions. You can make either 40k a year while others may make 95k a year.

It depends on a number of factors :

How much you charge per post or copy

How many clients you take a week or day

Ultimately, it's all up to you and how much you can handle. My advice is don't take on more than you can handle and don't exhaust yourself. If you do, the career will no longer be exciting and the quality of your work may start to plummet.

Is it possible to be both Types of Writers?

The short answer is yes! You can do anything you put your mind to. The more in-depth answer is, it depends on how much you can handle.

Like I said in the previous section, you don't want your work to suffer due to overextending yourself. Learn how to manage your time and be selective about what clients you pick, and what projects you choose.

Furthermore, Both forms of writing are lucrative, fun, and exciting. I'm abselutly excited about the challenge of doing something new and expanding my knowledge of different forms of marketing that will help me with future business ventures to come. I know the more I learn and the more experience I gain in this field, the more information I'll be able to give.

Kennedy Montecue is a Blogger, Podcaster, and Author. She has written over 10 novels in which two them (poetry and non-fiction) are available now on amazon. In her spare time, she enjoys reading poetry, photography, binge watching SNL on Hulu, and studying french. Montecue is currently writing her next book of poetry and her first play.

industry
2

About the Creator

Kennedy Montecue

Mental and Women’s Health Blogger who occasionally writes about love and social media, and freelance writing .Published Poet & Content Creator who edits articles for money :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.