Journal logo

Cliche

Don't cry over the calm before the storm as the best medicine

By Chelsie StevensPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Cliche
Photo by Mulyadi on Unsplash

Don't cry over spilled milk...Ok, but what if I needed it? Maybe the spilled leche was just the straw that paralyzed the humpback. I mean, it's not the milk, per se; but now I have to clean it up and I kind of don't feel like it, not today. I probably needed to release something and this misplaced beverage is just my choice of projection. Don't wanna human today, maybe later. How old was that pressed almond remnants anyway? Am I crying over spoiled milk? Geez, I just can't.

The calm before the storm...OMG you misery company loving happiness sniffer. Bruh, when is life not a nauseating sea of sickness? Rocking me everywhere but back to sleep. I found a calm within those storms; I managed to match their rhythms so that I could flow inside of them, rather than drown endlessly; pointlessly punching away at currents that consider me, a necessitous casualty. It is my momentary gasp for air as the waves pity my tears that yearn for its vastness, hoping to mean something other than nothing, as the salts collide; creating difference where only synonyms lie. For the ocean has no need for that which grants my actual ability to yearn for its infinitely deep freedom from captivity; whilst casually captivating my jealousy and envy.

Laughter is the best medicine: have you ever tried sleeping with a broken wrist or ankle; how about a broken heart? Palliative treatment exists for the former but with the latter the cause is the cure; poisoned into pleasure - Afraid and begging for more. The medicine that I need hurts more than it heals, yet I don't know when to stop; using it or letting it use me.. Laughter Is the best medicine if it's laughing with you and not at you, but me, I have a tendency to be the clown and the birthday girl born on the wrong day. Everyone laughing with you, laughing at me, laughing at myself playing a damn good fool.

I don't care what I allowed in the past; try me today!

I tend to look inward for solutions, I am no stranger to introspection. I use to hide from everything and everyone; self included. You don't know me because I haven't introduced you; haven't been introduced yet. I'm in the waiting room.

My faith in my own ability to dictate the direction of my life makes me strong-willed and perseverant. Self-sacrifice and no knowledge of self-worth was once the source of self-loathing and resentment; I was too timid to say it; courageous enough to scream my forgiveness without opening my mouth now. I don't chase, I attract.

I am open to self-improvement and personal development – reading self-help books and taking psychology tests in order to help myself grow. This is the work that I invested in my faith in order to manifest a plot twist reality. Shocked every - including and especially to the fearful parts of me that are a fart in the wind memory today.

I tend to be good at learning from my mistakes, and I am willing to take time to think about what I could have done differently - which was a hard no back in the day when attempts to avoid attack, made me a moving target; moving backwardly in slow motion, perpetually stuck in a perpetual reality of limbo.

I am quick to identify sources of unhappiness or discomfort – whether internal or external – and see what I want to do about them. Which is something I'd deemed impossible in high school. I sought out sources of unhappiness or discomfort in order to prove that my victimhood was justified and appropriate due to reparations of reciprocity; 6 months post its due date.

I appreciate compliments and take them at face value, but I also take criticism seriously, as I realize that sometimes people can see aspects of me that I don’t see in myself. But sometimes, the insecurities of others cause criticism to become venom filled envy. I stopped crying and started ignoring. Taking it with a grain of salt instead of a barrel of Flint Michigan's water.

My pursuit of happiness and fulfillment doesn’t mean that I’ve always been successful. In fact, I’ve gone through some very difficult times. However, I refuse to blame others for my suffering. My independence also prevents me from placing too much faith in others. When I seek advice, I am not looking for someone to tell me what to do and how to think – just someone who can share their experience and opinions with me. My growth process is just that, my own, and my actions are likely to reflect that. Glad I cleaned my mirror. The reflection is blinding.

I prefer to work alone since this allows maximum freedom, responsibility, and control. But that doesn’t mean that I will shy away from collaboration. It does however mean that maximum freedom, responsibility, and control, have been restored and returned back to its rightful owner and proprietor. I'm not for sale, don't want or need whatever it is you're pedaling either.

....... Ok, I remember; I've arrived. It's a pleasure for you to meet me.

workflow
Like

About the Creator

Chelsie Stevens

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.