Journal logo

Christmas Holiday Memories

Christmas Holiday Memories

By Soni SharmaPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Christmas Holiday Memories
Photo by Lynda Hinton on Unsplash

Many memories of Christmas are from childhood to that emotional and innocent time. Growing up, some of my favorite Christmas memories came from my grandparents' farm. One of my best Christmas memories is celebrating that day with a big party at my Aunt Gertha and Uncle Fred Tauscher's house on Ludwig Street in Rock Springs.

It was always such a pleasure to spend this time with the whole family. After losing my beloved grandmother in 2015 and my father in 2016, my mother decided it was time to get the whole family together for Christmas. My favorite holiday memory after my father's death was Christmas. That Christmas, my husband and I taught us how to raise three kids.

During my childhood, my favorite part of Christmas was the Christmas shows that Brother Zach and I put on for the whole family. As a child, the highlight of each year was the creation of a Christmas list.

My mom is a great person on vacation, so I can list a lot of traditions and memories, but the oldest time I remember is 1985. As I reflect on the traditions of the Christmas season that I love, I find that one of my church families, St. Elizabeth's Catholic Church. For more than 30 years, young people have been an integral part of dating before the Christmas Eve evening service.

We want it to be special to the spirit of Christmas: Emmanuel, God is with us. “We want to make Christmas special with the addition of lights, gifts, and movies.

For those celebrating Christmas, it is a fascinating day full of tradition, hope, and optimism. Waiting for Christmas Eve is like planning a holiday, and sometimes it's more fun than the holiday itself. The holidays are a great time to focus on love, life, and laughter.

Of course, we all have our own special Christmas memories, and it's fun and inspiring to share other experiences and traditions. Holiday memories are created by families, whether it is the family where we were born, or the family we create through the church, work, or social interaction. I am grateful that we have found a way to come together to celebrate Christmas as one big family.

And that's how we hosted over 40 friends and family during Christmas week. The second event was a Christmas party organized by volunteers for the children. For Jenny Wheely, spending Thanksgiving and Christmas in West Virginia with four other PV volunteers and the families she worked with has been the best of the holiday season.

The thrill of listening to Santa's sleigh comes on the roof, the distinctive scent of the Christmas tree, tearing colored paper from gifts, attending church services and singing our favorite hymns, sharing dinner with family, watching movies, or Playing the game till morning. Evening.

Whether you decide to add one, many, or all of these Christmas rituals to your Christmas wish list, you can't pass up the memories you create with your family that you will cherish for years to come. These are the little things you do to celebrate that your family will look forward to all year long because the holiday rituals you start today will be fond memories for your family in the future. For many families, such as messes, celebrating their baby's first holiday is incredibly important, and memories play a big part in that. While jewelry is often the most popular way for families to celebrate each precious year, there are other items that customers use to celebrate.

Together, they help shoppers choose items to decorate their Christmas tree with this year, but they'll also be interesting from generation to generation. But they have a sense of meaning and nostalgia that is beyond time.

Our Being Moments series explores the anticipation of the holidays and creates memories throughout the season with the people they love most. Now that you've read through some of our favorite holiday traditions and memories, take a moment to share them with us. With the holiday season approaching, we asked our staff at SweetwaterNOW to share with our readers some of their favorite holiday or traditional memories. Above and Beyond wants to help you make the most of the days you have to make those memories, so we're focusing on simple ideas for spending time together.

music. Take an hour or two to sit down with friends and family and enjoy singing in tribute to the Christmas present we all love and can't wait to see. Movie nights are a great way to spend "family time" with all generations - by holding a family movie night one day a week. I'm an old fanatic, nostalgic, American, especially when paired with Christmas.

My favorite Christmas tradition is to walk and see all the Christmas lights in town. One of my favorite theater party memories is wearing the most famous Broadway dress in theater history when I filmed White Christmas on Broadway in 2010. Many memories of being one of Santa's helpers differ from others.

When I feel like things are not as they should be, all I have to do is remember Christmas how lucky I really was. Christmas is inherently a "home" holiday, and celebrating it from afar can be bitter. It is the capital of Christmas, the home of Santa Claus, and the setting for the Merry Adirondack Spirit historical novel series. I don't know what his name was, but the phrase "Where would you find Santa..." stuck in my head.

The 1950 record is very rare, but it was played continuously during Father Frost Workshop, and I love hearing it in documentaries. Check out this original song paired with historical photos of our city. The Great Christmas Light Show transforms the North Myrtle Beach Park and Sports Complex into an entertainment event with a fully themed light show.

The summer may not be as hot, but the sun will surely cheer you up with the festive cheer. Here on the beach, the weather is nice and warm even on vacation.

You'll find a barn full of deer, a talking tree, and you'll be able to meet the real Santa, not one of his representatives. I'm sure Santa must be a buyer of Adirondack chocolates himself, and these treats will help him dress up his figure for Christmas. Thanks to Novels Alive for inviting me to share this guest post with you and for letting me meet you on Christmas Eve.

Notebook-diary is a good gift for family and friends. A one-year-old teenager and I played Christmas carol potpourri on violin and viola, respectively. Twenty-five minutes later, they were ruthlessly jumping up and down on the bed, tearing up the brown paper, and finding that Christmas was over.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.