Journal logo

Can you make a living writing?

Make a living writing

By Biswajit DasPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Photo by Startup Stock Photos from Pexels

Hello everyone! Have you ever think that you can make a living writing? Well yes. You can make a living writing, but it requires hard work and you have to work hard to become a full time writing.

There are many people who have a writing for passion and they want to showcase their articles, but the only thing is they do not have any idea about where to publish their work and start earning. So, In this article, I am going to give you a clear idea to become a full time writer.

First I want to tell you that do not write only for money instead write for your passion. Write your heart out. If you are new to writing, then obviously you need to learn how to write quality articles. And if you already know about how to writing, it is great. You can start writing now.

Do you know where you can publish articles and earn money? Well I was also concerned about this when I was newbie writer. I have seen many people blogging and earning huge money, so I also want to start a blog. That time, I was younger and I do not have enough money to buy domain and hosting. So, I went ahead with Blogger-A free Blogging service by Google. After creating my website and customize it, finally I started publishing articles. I was tired after publishing 100s of articles monthly and I was not getting views more than 100 per month.

After some months, I learned about SEO-Search Engine Optimization, from the internet. After that, I started writing SEO friendly articles. Still I was getting only 100-200 views per month only. I started blogging only for making money and make a living writing. Then, I also promoted my articles on various social medias like Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest etc. I also created backlinks. Still my online blogging earning was zero. As I was not getting views on my articles, I was not able to monetize my website and earn money from blogging.

After publishing 1000s of articles for a year, I gave up. I was doing research online and finding other websites to make a living writing. Then, my friend suggested to start freelance writing. I thought for a moment and decided to give it a try. I registered on almost all freelance websites like Freelancer, Truelancer, Fiverr, Upwork etc. But I was not getting a single project. I was sending proposals daily.

And on one magical day, my proposal got accepted by a client on Truelancer. I was really happy that day as I got my first chance to earn money from writing. I quickly asked the project details and started writing articles. After submitting the articles, I got my first payment of 500 INR, around 7$ and I was very happy.

Now, I got motivated and was sending proposals daily, but after waiting for two months, I did not get a single project and gave up.

Now, again I was finding new opportunities to make a living writing. Then I discovered ListVerse, which will pay you 100$ to write Top 10 article of 1500 words. I submitted around 5 articles, but sadly all got rejected. Maybe my writing style was not good then.

After some days, I gave up and thought that I cannot make a living writing and was very sad. After some days, I come to know about Hubpages which is a revenue sharing writing site. I quickly created an account. I wrote my first articles and enable monetization. After that, I wrote 5-6 articles in a month, and was earning peanuts like 5$ per month and the minimum withdrawal limit is 50$ which is too high. I gave up once again.

Then, I discovered Medium- A writing platform, I was happy to know that I do not have to do anything to promote my work. I only have to write articles and rest is up to Medium. I wrote many articles, and I was getting a quite good number of views, and I was earning around 20$-40$ per month. Well, It's Ok, but I thought how can I make a living writing from 40$ only.

Then, I discovered Vocal, I published a couple of articles, and was not getting views, then I was writing on both platform Medium and Vocal. In my opinion both are great.

As, I am from India, I can easily make a living from 200$-300$ per month. And I hope that I can make a living writing soon.

So, back to question, Can you make a living writing? Well, Yes. You can make a living writing. I want to tell you that do not give up like me and work constantly on a particular place. Only, then you will get success as a writer.

Write, Write and Write to make a living writing.

how to
1

About the Creator

Biswajit Das

I am a new writer and learning new tricks to enhance my writing skills.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.