Journal logo

Can We Bring Back Pen Pals Please?

Just a thought

By Marissa JeffriesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Can We Bring Back Pen Pals Please?
Photo by Joanna Kosinska on Unsplash

It has dawned on me just now, that there isn't much left in the world of our old ways.

I remember when I was in school we had "pen pals" where we would write letters to other children from other schools. They were in another country.

We would ask them questions about their favourite animal or what colour they liked. Basic, yet innocent questions about who they were.

I was always excited about receiving a letter from a new friend that I have never met in person, as the children at my school always bullied or teased me, it felt like a little soul like my own actually cared and I wasn't so alone in my little world.

We have other ways of communicating now, texting, email and other social media platforms that can connect us in a way that seems so dull.

It's not the same as a written letter. I write letters all the time, to my daughter and my husband, but it is not the same as meeting a new friend through pen and paper.

When I became a teenager, all those letters came to a complete stop. Like it was the end of a friendship, I was always curious about what the other human was like. What is she doing now? Is she a doctor or did she change her mind? Did she end up getting the toy she wanted for Christmas? Did she move like she said she was going to or did her family stay put?

Now, context would change, yes there may be the thought of programs out there that can help reach out to you with a pen-pal, but a lot of the world cannot write anymore as we are so used to our phones and our keyboards, I am giggling while writing this, because well, its a little hypocritical of me.

By Ales Nesetril on Unsplash

It's a magical feeling of receiving a letter from someone in the mail. Not by text or email, but when you can sense the presence of someone else, that they actually put a lot of thought into what they were writing, it's almost like they are there, with you. Almost like they were always in your life, like your best friend that you have never met.

I know, that maybe people don't do it anymore because of privacy concerns, you could always get a P.O box or something different to protect yourself, I mean, yeah, the world is a scary place, but at the same time there is lots of people out there who feel the same way as I do. Wanting that magical feeling, yet again.

I wonder what kind of person I would write to, what would I write them? How would my letter start? I would probably have to keep a lot of my life out as I don't want to endanger myself.

This has always been a thought of mine. It would be interesting. If the world dropped overnight with technology, we would have to write letters or drive across countries to spark up a conversation

At the end of the day, it is just merely a thought, a thought as to why such things have fazed out. We should bring back the old ways, the old lost arts of what used to be. Thoughts that maybe one day we can teach our own the older methods of communication instead of relying on a screen.

Enlighten the youth as to why communicating with people through written context through pen and paper is vital to survival, who knows, the pen-pal I had in school, maybe we have crossed paths once in our life.

Let's bring that magic back.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Marissa Jeffries

Here I am!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.