Journal logo

Call Me Home

A nostalgic short story.

By Victoria ReevesPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like

I stand alone. However, I am busy with my thoughts. The thoughts and ideas of what I must do for the rest of the day buzz around in my head. So, I don't feel alone. I pull out my phone to look at the time, but I am so deep in my thoughts that I forget my initial purpose for pulling my phone out. So, I put it away again. I stand here with all the tasks of the day screaming in my head. "Read the rest of the chapter," they say, "don't forget to take that test", they demand. I forget. I forget it all. I forget every idea, every single task, and every responsibility that I have. In this moment, as the wind billows up far behind me and pushes against my back, moving my hair and ruffling my shirt, I am sent back in time. I turn towards the wind, I feel it in my bones to turn, and as I turn, I breathe in. The carefree air enters my nose, and it feels like the air is connected to my memories. I am instantly transported back to a simpler time.

I lay across the full bench swing. I swing in tune to the easy day, back and forth, gently and slowly, never getting high enough to raise concern or to excite myself. I am reading a book on Cleopatra, the pages are crisp and they have a golden coat on them to add to the majesty of the last Egyptian pharaoh. Leaves fall all around me; the leaves are big and thick and one could hear them tap as they hit the ground. The leaves sound like the turn of a page when they touch the ground. I stare up into the tree, soft rays of sunlight cascade down through the limbs and the leaves. My observations are suddenly interrupted as I hear the sliding glass back door slide open, and I hear the hooves of a thousand wild horses. My sisters' laughter shakes the serenity out of the air as they all run out of the house. I listen and I sit up after I hear the first splash. I look over the short distance of the yard towards the house and put my hand over my eyes, shielding out the sun. The girls are lined up at the diving board on the deep end of the pool. I laugh and slide back into the swing, resting my back against the arm rest. I look up towards the sun through the trees once more and I sigh a peaceful, serene, and happy sigh. I close my eyes and feel the warm sun on my face and I brush my fingers across the pages of the now-closed book.

Beep! Beep! I jump at the sound and I look around and notice that I am standing at the bus stop. I look at the bus driver and I sigh as the thoughts begin to fill my head again. The thoughts and tasks come in an overwhelming surge as they create a mad wind and eventually form into a tornado in my brain. I walk up to the bus and step up. "I have been waiting here for quite some time," says the driver and I nod, embarrassed. "I am sorry for the inconvenience I have caused you," I reply as I sit down in the front row. The driver looks into the mirror at me with knowing eyes, "It was gorgeous, wasn't it?" He asks with a smile on his lips. He closes the bus doors and we leave.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Victoria Reeves

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.