Journal logo

Caliah Jinaye

Managing Editor of Her Hustle Magazine

By Tammy ReesePublished 4 years ago 6 min read
Like
Caliah Jinaye (Managing Editor of Her Hustle Magazine)

Caliah Jinaye is originally from San Diego, CA, and has a B.A. in Humanities & Communication from California State University at Monterey Bay. Caliah is also happily married to her husband Daniel.

Since 2016, Caliah has been on a mission to help as many people as possible fall totally in love with skin and ultimately themselves; through the wonderfully pink world of Mary Kay cosmetics. During her tenure, she has successfully helped hundreds of clients find the perfect products to suit their beauty needs; and was even awarded an all-expenses-paid cruise for two, to The Bahamas for her hard work and dedication. After recently moving to her new home in Atlanta, Georgia she decided to further her entrepreneurial endeavors.

Recently, Caliah joined the staff of Her Hustle Magazine (HHM) as the Managing Editor and right hand of Founder and Editor in Chief, Tiffany Monique. This powerhouse duo hit it off instantly as they both share a burning passion to serve and support female entrepreneurs while maintaining a “we can have it all attitude” as Her Hustle Magazine was created to fund a program called, The Women Funding Women Initiative which supports women entrepreneurs by offering them holistic grant alternatives.

Currently, Caliah Jinaye is expanding her enterprise by also taking on coaching clients who need assistance with the strategies behind goal setting and execution. As a general rule, Caliah believes every person, regardless of age, background, or gender deserves to have someone in their life to support them and encourage self-loving habits.

Caliah Jinaye is Founder and C.E.O of Caliah Jinaye Enterprises, inc..

Tammy Reese:

What inspired you to get into your field?

Caliah Jinaye:

I am a serial entrepreneur because my parents lovingly inspired me to do so. Both of my parents have had long successful careers in their industries, as well as their own businesses and organizations "on the side". Like many young girls, my mother always taught me the importance of being a woman with her own income, even if it was side money. She taught me to build a "just in case fund" and to position myself . Then there's my dad. He also encouraged my independence from a young age, and when I was fired from my first real job after college he told me "if you don't have a job, create one."

They sounded extreme at times, but as I got older, I really appreciated having the principles my parents taught me ingrained in me, and I realized I could use those skills and principles to help others in need of similar skill-building.

"I had the capacity of being a great leader and the drive to be a hard worker, yet drowning in the ever-present reality of being limited by other's perceptions of me."

-Caliah Jinaye

Tammy Reese:

What are some obstacles in your career?

Caliah Jinaye:

The only obstacles that come to mind are the ones I allowed to be imposed on me by various employers and/ or co-workers over time. I don't think I'm a bad employee, but I do know I am not the type to "tow the company line". If something or someone is wrong, it should be addressed; and if I'm wrong, I should be addressed, not blackballed, or deemed "confrontational" (stories for a different time). The main obstacles I faced were based on the internal war I was having with myself, knowing I had the capacity of being a great leader and the drive to be a hard worker, yet drowning in the ever-present reality of being limited by other's perceptions of me. Once I stepped away and fully let that go by converting my entrepreneurial hobbies into businesses, I was liberated to step into my calling and live a much higher quality of life.

Tammy Reese:

What do you love most about the work you do?

Caliah Jinaye:

The sheer happiness and excitement my clients feel when we achieve their desired goals or outcomes. I offer many services because I strongly believe in having multiple sources of income, but ultimately I have positioned myself to empower others to get manifest their dreams into realities. Watching someone grow through that process, is phenomenal.

Tammy Reese:

What is your stance on the black lives matter movement?

Caliah Jinaye:

All lives can't matter until all lives are respected equally. I'm in full support of any movement that calls out mass injustices and demands reform for all.

Tammy Reese:

How has the pandemic changed your life?

Caliah Jinaye:

The pandemic caused me to pivot. Like many business owners, I was used to running my business a certain way- it was routine and within the comfort zone of myself and my clients. When one main avenue (meeting face to face) became totally unavailable, I had to re-evaluate my desired outcomes and determine a new plan. From that time, I came out with 4 new streams of income and the fortified confidence that nothing can stop a purposeful plan.

"HHM was created with the purpose in mind to be a source of revenue for the Women Funding Women Initiative, which gives holistic grants to female entrepreneurs."

-Caliah Jinaye

Tammy Reese:

What are you currently working on?

Caliah Jinaye:

In addition to supporting my clients, this Summer I accepted a position as Editor for Her Hustle Magazine. It has been an amazing experience so far, working with businesswomen and writers from all over the world to produce a publication that serves and celebrates entrepreneurial women, globally.

HHM was created with the purpose in mind to be a source of revenue for the Women Funding Women Initiative, which gives holistic grants to female entrepreneurs who might otherwise be overlooked or excluded from traditional funding sources. You can learn more about the magazine and the initiative at herhustlemag.com

Tammy Reese:

What's next for you?

Caliah Jinaye:

My first book is in the works, and I am really excited to share the pillars of my success with anyone who will listen with an open heart. While I want to leave much to be desired until its official debut, I will share it is a comforting and encouraging resource for the many women (and men) who want to get out of their heads and into the roles they desire in life.

Tammy Reese:

What's some advice you would have for someone who wants to get into your field(s)?

Caliah Jinaye:

Be kind to yourself. You are your number one client. Meaning, you can't genuinely and objectively lead someone through their goals if you aren't in the practice of positive self-talk. It doesn't mean you are delusional and unrealistic, but the way you treat yourself will eventually become apparent to your clients and if they feel you are disingenuous, they might not trust you to help them through their process.

Tammy Reese:

How can you be contacted?

Caliah Jinaye:

My preferred contact point is through email: [email protected] and [email protected]

Social media:

Fb: @caliahjinayeenterprises

ig: @caliah_jinaye_today

web: caliahjinaye.com

interview
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.