Journal logo

Building a Profitable Writing Career Doesn’t Need to Be Lonely and Frustrating

The right community can take your pain away and serve as a shortcut.

By Sinem GünelPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
Building a Profitable Writing Career Doesn’t Need to Be Lonely and Frustrating
Photo by Patrick Tomasso on Unsplash

Writing can be a lonely journey. You can spend hours typing words, questioning whether your sentences make sense, and doubting your ideas and greatness.

Ideally, you’d have a circle of writers who encourage you, give constructive feedback, and help you become a better writer.

In the best case, this circle would also get regular visits from experts who share tips, tricks, and the most relevant news of the writing industry.

At least, that’s what I wish I had when I first started my journey as an online writer more than two years ago.

I never dreamed of becoming a writer and I didn’t know anyone making money through their words when I suddenly found myself publishing my words online.

I was ambitious, eager to learn, and willing to invest in myself and my writing career. The problem was I didn’t know how to make that investment.

I didn’t want a course that’d teach me how to write. I wanted more. Unfortunately, I never found that more.

In the past year, I made six figures through my writing business, coached more than 250 writers, and built a community of more than 6.5k people who’re eager to turn their words into a paycheck.

But I still didn’t find that magical place that’d give my students and me more.

As an ambitious entrepreneur, I’m addicted to solving problems, so I’ve, of course, been thinking about a solution to that problem for a while.

Here's my idea for a solution: An exclusive membership for ambitious online writers where they get access to expert workshops, learn about the latest updates of the online writing industry, connect with like-minded writers, get answers to their questions, and feedback on their written words.

Shortcuts are priceless

In the past years, thousands of writers followed my advice about writing. In addition, I invested hundreds of hours into building and serving my community.

And even though I’m supporting hundreds of writers per year through my courses and coaching services, I know my offer isn’t complete. Once a student has finished one of my courses, they’re out in the wild west with no ongoing support.

They can still reach out to me and share their questions in my community, but most of them don’t do that.

In an ideal world, I’d soon launch a membership site with Memberful to continue serving my audience and existing customers on a high level. This would enable me to support ambitious writers on a deeper and more sustainable level.

With a community of almost 7k members and 250+ paying customers, I’m sure my audience would love a membership site that’d give them everything they need to turn their writing-dreams into reality and make a living by publishing their words.

The online writing world is fast-paced and continuously changing. A proven and trusted membership could take the pain away and help writers focus on the things that truly matter in their career: Their ideas and words.

Everything else would be answered inside the membership through:

  • Weekly Q&A sessions where I answer all sorts of burning questions around building a profitable and reliable online writing business
  • Expert workshops with writers and entrepreneurs from various areas who share their wisdom.
  • Inspiring interviews with leading voices of the industry.
  • Monthly reports about changes in the online writing landscape.
  • A monthly theme (headlines, introductions, finding your voice, pitching freelance clients,…) about which the members get exclusive video and written content and exercises plus workbooks. These monthly focus themes would help them to continuously learn and become better writers without ever feeling overwhelmed.
  • Daily or weekly motivational snippets that help to stay focused on their goals.
  • A supportive and like-minded community that gives honest and constructive feedback and supports each other.
  • And so much more.

My journey as a writer would’ve been a lot easier if I had access to such a membership back when I started.

The first two years of my life as an online writer were lonely and frustrating, but that doesn’t need to be the case for everyone else. Building the (writing) business of your dreams can be fun, encouraging, and inspiring.

As an entrepreneur, I can’t offer free advice and support all the time. I know the value and importance of my time and energy, and I appreciate those who’re willing to invest in themselves and great services and products.

A membership site would allow me to serve and support more writers on a meaningful level and further monetize my expertise and experience as a 6-figure online writer.

I don't view a membership site as a substitute for my current products or our public community. I see it as an addition for those who want to invest in their career and surround themselves with like-minded people and priceless advice.

business
1

About the Creator

Sinem Günel

Entrepreneur, Coach & Dreamer. I write about Personal Growth & Business. 🇦🇹 🇹🇷 Grab your Personal Growth Toolkit: http://bit.ly/pgtk0320 I IG: sinem.guenel

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.