Journal logo

Broke in the house, I'm in the house broke...

Now that we are facing a new situation and adjusting to a new normal, what can we do to help ourselves out?!

By DoryPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Broke in the house, I'm in the house broke...
Photo by Joshua Hoehne on Unsplash

I think by now, we all got through the famous TikTok "Bored in the house, I`m in the house bored" part of the quarantine/pandemic. Things are getting back to it's somewhat usual form, we still spend more time at home than usual tho. So we got to the stage where we are still bored in the house, but now broke as well. We online shopped, we ate, we paid rent and bills, but without the usual job, we are running our of our limits. I believe, I'm not the only one who sees this. Or the fact that you were lucky enough to find some odd jobs here or there to keep some extra cash in your pocket, but they are ending, and your usual job isn`t back full speed yet.

Yep, we are in a weird time, in a weird situation. Please tell me that I'm not the only one who is struggling financially, and I don't even order from Amazon or Ebay, just if it's really needed.

I thought by now, we are getting back to our routine, but I was wrong, now we aren`t even sure, if we will be able to celebrate Christmas with the people who we love. I mean, things are starting to open back up, but the numbers of Covid cases are increasing as well, so they are shutting back down for a 2nd round... Oh well... oh well... So what can we do right now?!

Let me be overly honest with you all, I`m not even sure what is the right answer for the question. Many people keeps on telling me that I`m asking way bigger and deeper questions than I can actually answer or even chew on. True... But I can share with you what I am doing in these times that has been helping or hasn`t. We learn as we go, right?!

Now that I have waaaaaaaay more free time on my hand that I have ever expected that I will, I decided to concentrate on my goals and on self development. What does that mean, huh?! Good question, I guess this topic is exactly one of those big ones I just mentioned a minute ago, you can chew it, but that`s about it. So in my case it looked like, that I recognised and I knew that I can`t change the current situation, but I can try to make the most out of it. I`m still broke, but I`m not as bored as I used to be. I started some small projects, the blog was one of them, but not the only one. I was always passionate about art and creative projects and I always wanted to learn about them more and try them out. I started to learn about photography and about owning a business. I know they are waaaaay far from each other, but why not?! I started using some of the new information and put it into use, then I entered some free beginner photography challenges just to put out my work and see how other people think about them. Just like when I started my blog, just tried to get some feedback. Surprisingly, I got some really positive ones. No no, I didn`t win the challenge, but I got good couple of votes and people actually liked what I was up to. Of course, I`m still far from being a professional, but I started something great and I`m moving to the right direction. I guess, that`s a good start and is enough for now.

You may ask that, "Yeah, great it`s all nice rainbows, sunshine and unicorns... you are creating a blog, taking pictures, ... Creative mind... But What In The World Has All These Do With Business?" Thanks for asking, I was about to mention is. Not much actually. :D I always wanted to have a small business, so times like these, I wouldn`t feel stuck. I may or may not had a great thought process with it years ago, but I was also may or may not afraid to do it then or EVER. Should have tho... Tooooo late, but let`s just say I learned from my mistake, at least I hope I did... But I decided to watch video interviews with business owners who are around my age. I`m in my mid 20s, I always expected that I will own a business when I will be in my 40s or something. The main thing I have learned out of them was, that I can`t wait for the perfect time or situation to start it out and the best way to do it is, just start it. Start it small, start with people. I really really liked it, because I have the idea, I have a vision, but the first step... Waaaaay tooooooo scary to me. But maybe now.

Staying busy and get some education helped me to keep my mind away from everything that`s going on around me. It keeps my mind away from the facts, that I can`t control and it leads to topics that I can. I can`t change the situation, but I can do something to be better off by the end of it. I`m not super optimistic about the fact that we would get back to normal in a week or so, time is what I have... plenty of it. Let`s use it for something that might helps me out in a longer run.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Dory

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.