Journal logo

Bobrisky Gets Honest About Source of Wealth

"Let me explain to you guys"

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1

Nigerian socialite and influencer Bobrisky is known for her ginormous personality, being a provocateur, and very famously - for her lavish lifestyle.

She constantly shows off wads of money, expensive things she's acquired, and all manner of monetary excesses.

Now, in a new interview with Chude, Bobrisky finally gets honest about her source of wealth and her general thoughts about money. This is what Bobrisky said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Bobrisky on WithChude

During the interview, Chude asked Bobrisky:

You are rich. Where is this money coming from?

To which Bobrisky replied:

Okay. Most times, I’m this person that I allow people say different things because that’s what keeps me in the news all the time. The moment I come and tell you ‘okay, you know what? Let me now explain to you guys this is where the money is coming from’, I don’t think I’ll be trending like the way I’m trending. People want to know 'Ah! Bob bought this, did this, did that, everyday,' always showing off money - N50 million, N100 million, dollars everyday.

Well, let me start from my adverts, influencing. I charge a lot of money. When I tell people that I charge over N30 million to influence people’s brand, people say it’s a lie. You know, I like the fact that they’re actually looking down on me because it’s making me go far, do you understand? When they now see, they now say ‘Ah, it’s true o! This one hold o!’ So going back to the money aspect, from my endorsement deals I charge - for six months it depends on the brand I’m influencing for – I charge over 50 million naira and above. And because I do it with passion, I’m this kind of person that I like to influence, to talk, to showcase myself, to show off myself so people want to watch me. They’re so interested. They say ‘I want to watch this Bobrisky. I don’t still get one thing. Let me keep watching, let me understand who Bobrisky is.’ From there, I bring out two different brands – and people say okay if this can look this good on Bobrisky, then it’s going to look perfect on me and they start buying. So people, the brands, see the effects of what I sell or what I put out there and if I tell them I’m collecting any amount of money today, no brand will tell me I won’t pay, they will pay.

So there is the influencing which we can see. Then there is the behind the scenes business which you’re not yet ready to tell us so we separate it from Bobrisky. Where is bae in all of this? Is bae number 1 or number 3?

Bae is number 3.

So bae is number 3, but what was the first thing you used to start making money? Was it business, influencing, bae or what? What started first bringing you money?

I think the first thing – what attracted a lot of people to me, this whole thing started from my Snapchat. You know, they were like ‘Ah ah, who is this one again?’ I was just living my real life. People were thinking 'Oh, Bobrisky is forming. Who is this one coming to form he/she has money,' but I wasn’t doing anything just to get people’s attention, I was just my real self. Just to let people know that this one is not here to start acting movies, acting scripts, I am here to just be myself, do my daily lifestyle on snapchat. So Snap actually made me so famous. Because I have a lot of – I have over 1.5 million subscribers on my Snapchat. So Snap made me famous. So it was when one of my friends, Eniola Badmus, said Bobrisky you have a lot of people on Snapchat, can you just divert those people from Snapchat to your Instagram? So I said it’s true and I started reposting my Instagram handle on my Snap for people to go and follow.

So that’s when the revenue started coming? But you were also charging people on your Snapchat?

Yes. That was when I saw the crowd, the views. I’m going to post one video, in one minute I’ll be having hundred thousand, two hundred thousand views. At some point I wasn’t even believing it myself. I was like what am I doing that people are so interested in Bobrisky? I was asking myself, is it bae? Cuz I know people thought bae was actually just to get attention, but there’s actually bae. This bae has been with me from my final year in University of Lagos. I met him in Unilag. This bae is just a behind the scenes that supports what I do. He’s not an internet kind of person, he doesn’t like drama, he’s just that person that when he sees anything on Instagram, he calls and says ‘Hey what did you do again? What’s up?’ or if there’s something I want to do like my party, there is a behind the scenes, like okay take this one and enjoy yourself.

Later, Chude asked Bobrisky's thoughts about money saying:

Some people say money is not everything. That it’s about having a good name or a good family with children, that money is not the ultimate. You’ve talked a lot about money, what do you have to say to that?

When you say that money is not everything, you’re lying to yourself. Money is everything. If you want to get a good name, is it not with money? Buhari is our president right? And he’s rich. He has a name for himself – Buhari. If Buhari is not a president, who will know Buhari? Who will know the name? Where is the good name? Who will know that good name? Nobody will know the name. It’s only when you’re known people know you for something. So I feel like when you tell me money is not everything, it’s a lie. Money is everything.

What did you think about Bobrisky's thoughts on money? I'd really love to hear your thoughts about it so please let me know what you think by leaving a comment on my Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends!

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.