Journal logo

Being Micro-Managed

Realizing Potential

By Ada'Mesha AdkinsPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
CONTROLLED

Don't you just hate when your working only for someone to come in and tell you your doing little to almost everything wrong!? Don't you hate when you feel like your doing everything right or everything you feel is right only for someone to come in and tell you "its not the way its supposed to be done". Well let me tell it...the work I do is very important to me especially with the job I'm doing, but my supervisor always comes at me with the simplest issues and I know I'm not perfect... I don't try to be but It just sucks when someone can tell you everything your doing seems to be wrong or not done their way and THAT'S THE THING. When I know I'm following the rules, doing everything correct and someone comes in and tells me "it's not done the right way", I'm quick to get upset. And some of you probably would too if there was a boss/supervisor out there telling you that everything or whatever your doing is not THERE WAY! I hate being micro-managed, it makes me feel like someone has the right to control what I say, what I do, how I do and say things and what I'm supposed to do. ***HINT*** The con in working for someone...which is why I'm taking a leap of faith and starting a business of my own. This business of mine is something to me that was not easy to even figure out if that was something I wanted to do. Before realizing this dream of opening a business, I was working in a retail store called Stein Mart. If you haven't heard of that or only even seen it once but can't remember...just think about stores like TJ Maxx, Belks, etc. It's very similar to those stores but I was working there for about almost two years (started in 2017 after high-school) and stopped in early September of 2019. Being there did teach me a lot, in fact I think that's where it started for me being micro-managed and having an issue. I was a sales associate in ladies but of course multi-tasking throughout the store in other departments as well. Still to this day (in 2020) I remember every single person I've ever worked with, their names and the impact they've had on my life. Something like that for someone like me, was definitely a life-lesson and something I'll never forget. Being there, working and being around all types of people from different walks of life WOKE ME UP to the world of customer service. Being micro-managed at this job made me realize that I'm in charge of my own journey and if it's one thing the employees taught me while being there is to NEVER SETTLE. It's crazy I say that too because right after I left Stein Mart, I went to go work for someone else...this time in a call center. It almost seemed like "I love myself but do I love myself enough to say I owe myself"? Working for someone vs. working for myself. It seems A LOT easier to work for someone else and that's why we all do it or most of society does it. But the other half of society chooses to make those sacrifices that I am afraid to make. And I constantly ask myself "what am I doing with my life"? "why am I constantly allowing someone to overpower me, control me, use me? and then someone once said it.."your not living in your gift". And that hit me hard! It wasn't until I heard that, that I realized that I was partly living in my gift which was customer service because that's the only enjoyment I get from interacting with people. When I interact with people they are the reasons I give my all to something because it's not for me I'm really doing it for, I'm doing it to help someone's life (in whatever way that may be). That is the ONLY joy I receive from working underneath someone. But why can't I receive that same joy from working for myself, or can I; and I just never really paid much attention to the idea and thought. And this is how I realized that I'm great at my job! Now I just need to start my own business... IT ONLY GOES UP FROM HERE!

humanity
1

About the Creator

Ada'Mesha Adkins

HEY GUYS, I'M NEW HERE!!!! AND I AM IN THE PROCESS OF CREATING MY BAKERY BUSINESS. I AM 22 YRS OLD FROM GEORGIA AND THIS IS MY FIRST TIME EVER CREATING A BLOG LIKE POST AND EARNING FROM THIS SOO FEEL FREE TO SEND ME COMMENTS OR REACH OUT!!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.