Journal logo

Be different.... be you

Working from home.... working for you

By Alicia ValdesPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

Since I was a little girl I always had this dream of my own place to live. I was raised in a family with 3 siblings and 2 bedrooms, so privacy was a luxury only allowed when my family get out for country trips and I had to stay because my college.

Today having my own place to live by my self it is a dream come true. Being really careful with the details to create a comfortable and professional space, not only to live, but also to work. I had my office, with several books, about business, self-improvement, economy, medicine, leadership and on. Two whiteboards where I carry out monthly planning, business projections, teamwork, tasks, daily and 5 years goals, as well as those pending with clients and business partners. A huge desk, with enough drawers, the laptop, a multipurpose printer and all office supplies that you could ever need in an office, total comfort. Sometimes I think I exaggerate a bit wit the professional touch, it feels more like an office than my own home. I like it, it keeps focus all the time in my goals. Is a lifestyle.

Having the internet service at home was a challenge for me, at the beginning I used to work with the mobile hotspot, but when the business was growing up….. that was the moment to moving forward and get the internet for home. I had to acknowledge is better than the mobile hotspot, for sure. It is much faster service, with higher speed, an amazing streaming quality that allows me to be connected with anywhere, anyone, at anytime in the world which is really and advantage because by eliminating the time it takes to travel from one place to another as its associated costs, it is not only a way to safe money, also is a reliable way to save time and increase the day productivity with the subsequent business growth or in the advancement of any work being done from home, which becomes tangible at the end of the month when the time to make the month analysis came.

My place is a really nice place to live and to work. Is always quiet, nice neighborhood with awesome neighbors always respectful and polite. These conditions make it very easy for me to get concentrate when I’m working. The light through the window as well as the plants smells make it the perfect environment to create and being more productive. I can spend hours sitting focused on a certain project, and it doesn’t feel like work, rather it feels like a purpose, a dream, a goal to reach.

As I am an immigrant, I have only lived in the United States for 4 years, my whole family is in my former country: Cuba. At first, dealing with living alone in one way was challenging. They said that living with other people is hard…….. learning how to live alone is also hard. But when the perspective is put in the right place and we focus on purposes, solutions and a positive mindset, what at first seemed like a challenge becomes your best ally to grow and be better every day. Living alone has brought me a lot at work from home. Unwanted interruptions are reduced to almost zero, I can spend hours working without stressing about to give time and attention to anything else than work. I have no children, therefore I am free from crying around the house or from a little person who requires my attention all the time. Zero cats, dogs or any kind of pets. in short, I live in a perfect and complete peace only for myself and for my personal growth and my projects.

Working from home has become the ideal for me. No more driving long distances. No more gas expenses. No more waiting in traffic. Also, another thing that I adore: homemade food, hot, freshly. With the work at home, the junk food or sometimes even without eating is over because working at home I have more than enough time to prepare my own meals. I love preparing my own food and working from home allows me to continue a healthy lifestyle.

Being a woman, I find it very favorable to work at home in the access to my own restroom. I recognize that women are a bit demanding on this point. Especially when it comes to hygiene. Being at home gives me peace of mind and I can use my bathroom in total peace without thinking about who was before me. Especially on those special days of the month.

In short, my house is the best place to work. With time I have come to create all the necessary and favorable conditions to have an environment with the highest quality, cozy, ready for creativity. from all the technical requirements, such as whiteboards, printer, computer, desk, chairs, office supplies, the correct lighting. Even intangibles as a quiet place, where silence predominates. The perfect place to focus and be productive. In addition to the benefits of living alone, being single and not having children, which reduces my responsibilities to have a good performance and total commitment to my work.

Is my home environment conductive and comfortable to work from home? Absolutely!!!

Every creative process has passion included. Creating this space with my personal stamp intrinsically carries each of the most demanding and creative parts of my personality. Being a lover of perfection (which I consider one of my greatest weaknesses) creating a workspace where I live myself, without breaking with the energy of a home and feeling at home at the same time, has been the most beautiful and productive challenge of my life. Because I am sure that it is not about where we are today, it is about where we want to be tomorrow. Its not about the goal, its about who you become during the process to achieve your goal. As I like to say, enjoy the moment, and always do your best.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.