Journal logo

Art is Life

Dream Job Come True

By Elizabeth TownsendPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I love my job because of the smile that comes across a person’s face when they see the work of art I have created. Whether they bought one of my needlepoint canvas designs, a button, a sticker, a painting, a photograph, or a resin creation, the look of joy and happiness makes it all worth it to me. It could even be someone reading one of my stories and poems and enjoying the read. I might not get paid to write them, but I even consider writing my fanfiction stories as part of my job because I can make people smile as they read what I have created.

It makes me so happy to think that I am slowly bringing more beauty into the world and putting smiles on peoples’ faces. I get to create custom pieces for people to show their personalities in their homes. The items are perfect for presents for your family and friends. The first items I have created were ones that I know are popular looks but that I would not mind owning myself. I do this because I create the items to order. This makes it easy for people to request custom designs.

I get to enjoy doing something that I love every day. I love to capture that rare and unique beauty that can be so hard to find. Beauty can be found all around us and is often overlooked. It could be as simple as a small flower that someone may not even realize they are about to step on, or it could be a beautifully crafted needlepoint design of someone’s pet. There is a never-ending source of inspiration in the world, and I love finding it and seeing where it leads me.

For example, if you asked me last year what my job was, I would have said writing. While I enjoy writing stories and poems for people to read, I honestly never got to write stories as much as I would have liked. I was stuck writing articles, product descriptions, and website content for other people. Now that I create beautiful works of art, I found I have more time to write the way I like to.

I grew up listening to what people said about not being an artist because of the saying "starving artist", which my father told me just weeks ago. I let them control what I did for a living for a long time, and I was miserable. I decided to break out of the funk I was in though and start living by a dream. Now, yes, I am still a writer like I was last year, but I'm hoping to stop that eventually and just create art.

Many different artists of all kinds of art have inspired me and helped me to follow my dream. Their wonderful works of art have inspired me. I love to buy beautiful works of art and have been inspired by them. For the longest time, I buried this inspiration though. It finally got to be too much though, so I let it burst free.

I now get to do things I love, smile all day as I work because I want to, and bring smiles to other people. Soon, I will be opening my own Etsy shop and sharing my art for the whole world to see, not just family and friends. I currently have my photographs on Displate, RedBubble, and Society6, and will probably leave them there.

I just hope to brighten as many people's lives as I possibly can. I don't care if I never become the next Da Vinci or J. K. Rowling. I just want to bring as many smiles as possible to the world in the only way I know best.

art
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.