Journal logo

And Tonight's News Is...The News

A scandalous story of tawdry sexual accusations

By Adam EvansonPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 3 min read
2
And Tonight's News Is...The News
Photo by ThisisEngineering RAEng on Unsplash

It is deliciously ironic that the BBC Tv news of tonight was all about, the BBC Tv news. In case you haven't noticed, it has recently come out that News At Ten anchor man, Huw Edwards, has been accused of some pretty serious offenses of a sexual nature.

It all began with the infamous Sun newspaper story that Mr.Edwards was guilty of paying a substantial sum of money, some 35,000 pounds, to an underage girl for revealing photographs. It is claimed that the girl used the money to feed a drug habit. Strangely enough, the girl herself has come out saying it is all a load of untrue nonsense. And it appears that Scotland Yard in London agrees with her, saying that there is nothing to investigate. However, the girl's mother and stepfather claim it is true and have complained to the police and to the BBC itself. To me, this smells awfully like a shakedown by a couple of charlatans.

Meanwhile, Mr. Edwards has decided to recuse himself and has entered some sort of mental institute after suffering a mental breakdown. I have seen some Facebook friends commenting that that could be seen as a pre-emptive ploy to avoid any legal actions that may be launched. In that way, there seems to be a presumption of guilt before any evidence can be provided. So much for innocent until proven guilty. Personally, I prefer to wait until I see hard factual evidence of a crime being committed.

Now here, I am going to play devil's advocate a little, and with good cause. You see, I have two very embittered ex-wives who spread the most atrocious lies about me far and wide. And they told those awful lies with such sincere conviction that almost everybody believed them. As a result, I became totally ostracised, and to this day I am still estranged from three of my four children. Did this have any effect on my mental health? You bet it did.

I was very close to being sectioned, as a result of having a breakdown, after being accused of having had a breakdown and suffering delusions about my ex-wife's infidelities. Her father wanted to kill me and attacked me with a very large kitchen knife! Even my own mother was totally convinced that I had lost the plot and told me I had to make an appointment to see a psychiatrist. In the end, I had to resort to bugging my own phone to prove my innocence and my ex-wife's guilt.

The other thing that concerns me about this case of Huw Edwards is that the story came from The Sun. This is a nasty UK gutter press newspaper with guttersnipe journalists to boot, who have a good deal of bad history for diseminating sensationalist lies. In fact, my home city of Liverpool will still not sell this rag due to their appalling lies about the people of the city.

The Sun; jingoistic, homophobic, sexist, racist, xenophobic, sensationalist, phone hacking stranger to the truth. If the story about Huw Edwards came from any other source in the media, it might gain a little traction with intelligent readers.

It is not for nothing that the owner of the Sun is colloquially known as 'The Dirty Digger' from down under. Personally I will never forgive the man for the role his 'Newspaper' played in bringing Brexit to fulfillment. One of the biggest acts of self harm a country could ever inflict upon itself.

As for Mr.Edwards; I sincerely hope he is innocent and goes after his accusers with a veangence. It is no less than they deserve.

tv review
2

About the Creator

Adam Evanson

I Am...whatever you make of me.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor10 months ago

    Hi Ralph ~ So incredibly interesting - you are a marvelous StoryTeller ~ A Favor? Will you please check with Scotland Yard if they might help with our immediate local Police issues - Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.