Journal logo

An Alternative Payment Method For Vocal Creators

How can I withdraw my earnings when I cannot create a stripe account in my country.

By Ikechukwu ModungwoPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
An Alternative Payment Method For Vocal Creators
Photo by Shubham Dhage on Unsplash

I am writing this piece more or less as an expression of my opinion and an invitation for consideration.

I must confess that I am very pleased to have found a platform such as vocal.media on the internet. It's a wonderful community of creative individuals with a talent for constructing words into brilliant stories. A community of so many diverse people and a togethernerness that warms up the heart.

I am a Nigerian living in Nigeria. I am 32 years old and single, no kids and no pets as of the time of writing this. I have researched for a long time on topics related to making money online from affiliate marketing to cpa marketing, to blogging and search engine optimization, link buliding and so many other topics. This research lead me to the discovery of an education in the make money online niche.

The one thing I discovered that makes it very difficult for Africans especially to earn money online is the issues of payment methods.

Vocal has adopted the Stripe payment processor as it's own means of paying it's content creators. A lot of other platforms employ the use of PayPal and the problem is that these payment processors are not accepted globally as some countries are not permitted to patronize their services.

In order to complete my vocal account, it is required that a stripe account must be added. This has created a limitation for me as I am not able to create a stripe account because I live in Nigeria.

While this may seem a tard unfair, as there are no alternative payment methods on vocal. I have come to accept that living in my home country Nigeria comes with a lot of limitations, especially when operating on a global platform.

Hence I wondered how I may be able to bridge this gap. I am most certain that I am not the only Nigerian content creator on vocal and most certainly not the only African. From that deductive conclusion I guess that it's safe to say that others are experiencing same limitations that I am currently experiencing.

Vocal has presented me with a platform where I can write what I am thinking about and be heard by people all over. So I thought "what better way to express my concerns about an alternative payment method that considers the unique diversity of vocal content creators than with an article about it?"

Trending worldwide is the cryptocurrency revolution, and while Nigeria and some other African countries may still be labeled as the third world countries, this label did not prevent the use of cryptocurrency from reaching the African continent.

I feel that the best alternative payment method that can easily be employed for paying vocal creators will be the use of cryptocurrency. Blockchain technology has created a seamlessly easy method of carrying out an unlimited amount of transactions in a matter of seconds. Cryptocurrency is easily accessible world wide and is gaining more users and acceptance as a means of payment for goods bought and services rendered.

I have several cryptocurrency wallets, and had I been required to add a cryptocurrency wallet address to my vocal profile it would have been easily done, creating a channel through which I could access my earnings on vocal.

Are there any plans by the vocal team to add another payment platform? Has anyone else raised this issues of alternative payment methods before and If so what was the feedback? These are the kinds of questions that I pondered on for some hours before eventually deciding to be write this article.

Is there a way I could get this through to the vocal team and what do you think is the most appropriate channel through which I could send them my concerns on the matter.

No offense is meant by this post and I hope that by sharing my opinions about this matter I would in no way ruffle any feathers.

My sincerest regards.

workflowindustrybusiness

About the Creator

Ikechukwu Modungwo

I'm an online entrepreneur sharing insights on digital solutions and marketing, as well as a passionate blogger and music lover.

Subscribe and share any post you find helpful with your contacts, they might enjoy it too.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Marvellous Onyedikachi14 days ago

    Same thing as medium, it's very depressing

  • I share the same sentiments with you too Ikechukwu. I am from Papua New Guinea and I just joined few days ago. I hope a Vocal Team member read your post and provide a response to help all of us. Thank you.

  • Dini Yusuf7 months ago

    Thank you so much Ikechukwu, I just found myself in a similar situation to you. I am just new to the platform, but I have not started posting yet. I decided to find out the possibility of a cash-out for Nigerians.

Ikechukwu ModungwoWritten by Ikechukwu Modungwo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.