Journal logo

Adding More to My Plate, How Much Writing Can I Handle in a Month?

With all of the things I do, something will have to take a backseat.

By Michael BrockbankPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2
Adding More to My Plate, How Much Writing Can I Handle in a Month?
Photo by Andrew Neel on Unsplash

I’m one who often takes on too much and pushes myself to my absolute limits. In reality, I’m quite impressed that I haven’t thrown in the towel on several projects. Is adding more writing to the month going to push me over the edge?

Not necessarily.

It really depends on how committed I am to certain projects. Obviously, I’m committed to the client work I perform. After all, I still have a mortgage to pay. But what about all of my other side projects?

Why is This Month Different for Writing?

As opposed to the blogging challenge I did in September, this month focuses more on being creative. For the most part, it’s a completely different style without having to worry so much about search engine optimization or keyword research.

This means that I won’t be hindered by the same issues as before. It takes quite a bit of time to plan out a blog post that you want to do well in something like a Google search.

Instead, the writing for this month focuses more on engaging an audience. It’s about storytelling. It’s about using my imagination to entertain the reader.

Of course, a lot of these aspects also go into blogging. But when you write fiction, it’s utilizing more imagination than anything else. Outside of storytelling, that is.

Though, I still have a few reservations about whether I’m good enough for such things. Although, that has more to do with facing impostor syndrome than anything. It’s something that a lot of writers deal with on a daily basis, actually.

In any case, it’ll be a nice shift from what I’ve been doing for the past decade.

Prioritizing the Projects

To get as much writing done as I can this month, I need to prioritize my projects. For this, I use the free version of Asana. It’s quite a handy tool for those who want to schedule and organize their day.

Plus, you can add up to 15 people to your team under the free account. So, if you have writers for your blog or perhaps a social media person, you can easily assign tasks as necessary.

At any rate, I’m going to prioritize the creative work after my client’s needs. Remember, I still have bills to pay, and my clients are who keep me in a home.

This means that I am going to pull back on some of the things I am working on. For example, instead of three blog posts for the gaming site per week, I’ll have to decrease output to about one.

I don’t want the site to appear abandoned, but I need the extra time to work on my writing this month.

Keeping My Audience Involved

One of my blogs and YouTube channels I have centers around writing in general. It’s the brand that I put the most effort into maintaining. As such, I have a growing audience, and many of whom are interested in the creative aspect of writing.

Though, I did start this particular brand focusing on freelance writing and making money from home. Still, it’s nice to see how many freelancers out there are interested in publishing their own works.

During this month of writing, I am going to share all of my experiences and what works best with varying platforms. I want to make them part of the journey and help guide them down their own creative path.

Getting the audience involved also gives me quite a bit of motivation to continue working on these projects. I have several who are already interested in buying my first self-published book on Amazon.

So, they are my inspiration and drive to make sure I succeed.

Focusing On My End Game

My ultimate end game as a writer is to see my name on the spine of a book. This has been something that I’ve been daydreaming about for decades. Unfortunately, I never really put in the effort to see those dreams come to fruition.

Mostly, it’s because I’ve never really felt that I was good enough to actually become a published author. Well, that was until I started reading some of the stuff that is out there today.

Not to sound conceited, but I am a far better writer than many people who make money pumping out book after book. I suppose the bar in the 2020s is much lower than it was in the 1990s.

Then again, I suppose that’s true with a lot of things in life.

The point of all of this is that I want more than to just be a freelance writer. Sure, it pays the bills and I love my job. But I want to be more than just a blogger on a tech website.

I miss the more creative side of what I can do.

What Are You Writing this Month?

Writing can come in a variety of forms. Whether you want to be a blogger or a novelist, you gotta put in the effort to excel at the things you want to do. Sitting around, crossing your fingers, and hoping things change isn’t going to help.

It takes action.

This month, explore different facets of writing and find your groove. It may take some time, but the end results are usually worth the effort.

literature
2

About the Creator

Michael Brockbank

I am the owner and operator of several blogs including WriterSanctuary.com. As a freelance writer since 2012, I have covered a range of topics and completed over 8,000 projects for clients. Follow me @WriterSanctuary on Twitter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.