Journal logo

Action

Black to Business

By Pearl ThomasPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Life Challenges You To See Your Greatness

Moleskin

I am grateful to be returning to you.

This is a very good topic for me. I would like to share with you my story with many others who would join me in mind.

Let me explain in this manner:

My background shares in the accomplishments of these people wanted to see succeed. I have been encouraged for years before any business interests. They have made us proud near and far in the community endeavors. A few ways are college art transcripts in the form of slides. A return to their roots exposes fabulous jewelry. Also, you will find breathtaking African Art celebrating couples, love, children and unity aswellbesides community values. (I have also noticed Indian Artwork.)

My first sign of this is in pottery class. I was involved in a local, community favorite location associated with the United Way. They offered GED classes which I enjoyed sharing with a parent for awhile before my own pursuits. I have been aware that a pottery class was included. You can paint, create while the kiln ready overnight for you to observe your creation upon your return. I value the foundation greatly. This reawakened my artistic skills.

I will never forget this place because being down the street from me, they offered meals in and out of the neighborhood. You could even eat after class in their soup kitchen serving the best foods.

I am a person who is accustomed to a great deal of goodness besides being a successful person. I cherish these people or connections as 💎 gems.

I am glad to see every facet of the area growing. However, I remember SMALL BUSINESSES. Still alive, striving, sucessful by continuing charity or good works. They are excellent to us. Yes, consider that they belong here too.

I love the hair shops. The local barbershop near a self- owned shoe store is very nice. If I must choose between the two, I lean toward the men. I learned, followed andeven help the neighborhood. And whilest I walked downtown trying to sale a service, I am so awakened by flowers, grills, shoes, food, art businesses AND voting stations. Protection was there. The service was temporary andalso declined. Some did not need the business assets the service offered to provide. People or word of mouth are all they needed it seems for now. Aside from someone daughter, people retiring even a shoe shop ,one well known, called Alfanos. Sometimes individual posessed a pet dog or cat. I was blown away by their success.

This experience was so Barbershop and Stone Soup experiences. I will never forget them. I imagine the red, white and blue pole as a symbol born in America. I am at the root also descendant. I can’t ignore thinking about striped candy. I have seen many of them. Maybe, they found one for their family tree too. So simple, but inevitable. A man’s barbershop. I recollect all the haircuts I’ve seen in person or magazines. The lines, the gel, the crew cut, the Mohawk or fa’de. Natural and waved alike. I love the design of cushioned seats...Do you recall your brothers or cousins haircuts? I do. And a Fathers ‘ razors shaving hair that agreed is too long. Too hot. Too informal- I’ve seen a many crew cuts because of those reasons.

...................

Community, create for me a positive experience. Bring us together! Share the land! You seem so pilgrim. Those were the days and you tried to build up the unwise or unknowing or unfortunate. This soup is handmade. War on terror they claim politically wants to strip it away. Seems cool...And the kettle simmers. Yes, add a melting pot. I am thinking Big Daddy’s house serving up gumbo or jambalaya. Create in me! These are good old days. And when find wholesome hospitality, that is beautiful these days. With all the good, this is what you want to cherish. Some Stone Soup.

We should help our local businesses flourish!!!!

business
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.