Journal logo

A writer becomes trapped inside their own book.

When you find love in another world

By Maria KalafatisPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
A writer becomes trapped inside their own book.
Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

It is 11:45pm, and I am nowhere near done with my book. My deadline is next month, and I still have a quarter of the book to write. I got to this point because I have been procrastinating most of the time. I go into writing a book head strong and then lose motivation the further I go into it. And once the motivation is lost; I fall behind so quickly. I have asked for many extensions, but the editor finally had enough of my excuses and if I don’t complete it in time, I will lose my book deal.

Right now, all that I have to go off on is there is a Viking girl named Ocean Smith, and she was taken from her tribe the Breserk and is taken by the Shadow Scar tribe and have been tuned into a house slave. What I want to do is turn her buyer Adrian into her love interest. Ocean is met with denial as she convinces herself the she could never be anything other than a Breserk and tried her best to hide her fallings for him, but one day cracks and admits her emotions to him, and he lets her know that she feels the same way. My issue is that I don’t know where to go from here. I have writers block. I look over at the time on my laptop and I see that it is 2:43am. Great, I have wasted the last 3 hours writing and deleting sentences on repeat. I am so stressed. I don’t know what to do. I should have been more responsible and planed my book better.

After a few more hours I find myself in a place that is not my own. I have a look at my surrounding trying to find out where I am. I look at the people and find that they are carrying weapons such as swards, axes, and shields. People are dressed in clothes that are either made from wool, linen or animal skins, and they look like robes that comes down to people’s ankles. Some people even have armour over there clothing. I feel like I am in some sort of convention. I must be going crazy.

“Hey Ocean” a voice calls

“Ocean” the deep manly voice says again

And that is when I release that I am not in real life, I am living inside of my book

“Yes Adrian” I call back

Adrian is the one that brought Ocean or … I guess he brought me. I am a bit confused

“We need to go inside it is starting to get a bit cold” he replied

So we head into Adrian’s house. He opens up the door for me and lets me in first.

“Do you want some tea my love?” Adrian asks with a soft voice

This is when I release that I am in the part of the book where they are deep in their relationship

“Yes dear” I reply trying to make sense of all of this

This is when I realise, now that I am living this book, maybe I can finally create an ending to it. And when I get back to the real world, I can finish it off and finally meet the editor’s deadline.

Adrian makes us tea, and we talk for a little bit. And soon talking turns into touching, touching turns into kissing. And then we end up taking it to our bedroom. This is the first time my characters have ever shared a moment this intimate. I guess I should have read the sexual tension I have been writing over the past couple of months. This makes total sense; I can’t believe I did not see it.

While we are love making, I can’t help but fell pure happiness and love, it just feels so right. I feel complete. Even though I know that this is not real life. After we are done, we lay in bed and hold each other in silence. Combatable silence. We both stay like this until we fall asleep and call it a day.

The next morning, I wake up to see Adrian’s eyes on me and I instantly smile.

“Good morning love” Adrian says in his raspy morning voice

“Morning Dear” I reply

We both get up, put on our undergarments and head downstairs. Adrian creates fire in the fireplace while I go and make some breakfast to eat. I don’t know how but this feel so natural to me. I somehow know what I am doing. I smile at Adrian while he is making the fire and I am in pure love. No questions about it, even though I know this won’t last long. This relationship will end when I go back to my world.

Next thing I notice is Adrian is down on one knee with a ring in his hand

“My love. I have been wanting to do this….” Adrian gets cut off by a loud booming sound

I don’t know what it is but we are both looking around so confused as the world around us shakes.

That is when I realise that it not just any sound, but the sound of my alarm going off

Then I wake up very disappointed that I could not live out my book, but at least I know where I want to go with it now.

I continue to write my book before doing anything else before while the idea is still fresh in my mind.

workflow
Like

About the Creator

Maria Kalafatis

I am a creative writer that loves to write poems and short stories, as well and the ocasonal review on stuff that I love and enjoy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.