Journal logo

A Visit from My Departed Professor

Dream Entry #8

By Andrea LawrencePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
A Visit from My Departed Professor
Photo by Felicia Buitenwerf on Unsplash

I was in my late professor’s apartment. She had a beautiful apartment. My professor taught literature and critical theories. I took classes from her as an undergraduate and graduate student.

My professor died of cancer in 2015. I was at her place as a good friend. I believe we watched Golden Girls episodes together. People came over to her place. I crashed on her couch for a few days.

The most distinct memory I have from this dream was when I sat down to play her piano. I didn’t play it for very long. A few bars. I was drawn to the piano because it reminded me of the one my grandmother had. My grandmother died in 2014.

As I got up to leave the piano, I considered closing the top over the keys, but I stopped myself. I wanted to leave the piano as is, and it wasn’t covered when I came over to play it.

I only remember the living room of my professor’s apartment. I left her place to go take some tests and to go to some classes. I had lost track of time. I was trying to remember my class schedule. Was it the end of the semester?

What do I take on Mondays? Was it American history?

I met with some other students and asked for help to pull up my transcript and also to find my current grades for classes I was in. I told one lady that my math skills had atrophied. I could only do about college algebra, which was about the highest math I ever took anyway.

We looked through my papers, test scores, but I wasn’t getting the real answer I needed: what were the classes I had forgotten to attend and what were classes I was doing so bad in that I needed to drop out of—to protect my GPA.

I stumbled upon a very long paper for an English class, one my professor was in charge of. She had written a stream of margin notes on the paper. Each section was given a score. The end of the paper had the final score, it was an A.

Her handwriting was scrawled everywhere. Different colored pen marks. I had the paper in a giant white binder. It was like she was trying to reach me from beyond the grave.

I remember there being something red and vivid in the dream, but I don’t know what it was. I wandered through hallways and got pretty lost. I was really anxious that I didn’t know my class schedule.

My professor’s apartment was the more stable part of the dream. It was in a pale white theme. The lights were dim. The piano was near a window. A TV was in a corner near the front door. The professor had her same shoulder-length haircut. She still had her sophisticated and witty demeanor. I felt like she had invited me to her place for a cup of tea and some instruction about where to go in life. Perhaps she was burdened by the absurd papers I wrote many years ago.

I don’t recall having dreams about her in the past. She was tall, well-respected, and liked to show pictures of her cats. The cats had to be rehomed after she died. Their names: Basil and Tomato.

The professor likes to do gardening. She smoked cigarettes. She loved poetry and wrote poems about flyover states. She had a deep voice. She could have done voiceovers for documentaries. She had a dry sense of humor. She was also compassionate; a professor who cared about the history of black people. She wanted them to have better lives. Her heart was gold, which is why… if I had a visit from her last night, it was a friendly and worthwhile visit.

I am starting to think the dead visit me in dreams because it happens on a regular basis. Whether my friend who played music with me or my grandparents… my subconscious thinks about my departed loved ones more than my conscious does.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Andrea Lawrence

Freelance writer. Undergrad in Digital Film and Mass Media. Master's in English Creative Writing. Spent six years working as a journalist. Owns one dog and two cats.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.