Journal logo

A Painter's Life

Daytime Thoughts

By Caitlin GonyaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

I wake up in the early mornings when it is quiet and the day hasn’t quite started, and I simply observe the shadows of my bedroom. If I actually venture outside, then I take in the fog and/or early sunlight. I shiver in the chill or sweat as the temperature rises. When it is night time, I observe the clouds, stars, and sometimes the firelight of the fire pit that my husband has lit. I enjoy the warmth but not the mosquitoes as they bite. For me, these are the times to have my cell phone so I can take pictures of the atmosphere for when I attempt to grab that feeling when I am painting. That wondrous feeling of living in a moment of perfection.

Being an artist means inviting other individuals to see the world the way that I see it. Whether that is good or bad or somewhere in-between. I find myself having engaged conversations with others about how they may see a blue sky, but I see a sky filled with blue, green, purple, yellow, pink, red, and white depending on the time of day. Grass is not just green, it is yellow and brown as well. A person’s skin tone isn’t white or black. It is beige, pink, purple, red, brown, umber, and other individual colors. The importance of seeing and not just looking cannot be underestimated. A person can look at another person, but it takes seeing that person to begin to understand what they are about. A person can look at a sunset and think it is beautiful, but seeing it can reveal what type of day it will be.

I feel these overwhelming urges to create art for any and every situation. I see my beautiful and goofy pitbull, and I want to paint that lovable side to him for everyone that thinks pitbulls are vicious. I want to create beauty in a time that things seem dreary and horrible. I want a viewer to look upon a painting and smile, feeling uplifted with the happiness that I have created. However, I also want to paint the serious and terrible situations that convey strong emotions that prompt a viewer to take action. I want the world to see that there is beauty in pain as well as in happiness. I want them to see this because it is life. I want a viewer to appreciate the world around them and what each individual represents. I believe that there cannot be good without the bad. If we as a society always had good events happen to us, then we will eventually take advantage of the events. It is the bad events that put the good ones into a true perspective.

Painting gives me a license to evolve as well. I can begin a painting feeling one way, and by the end feel a different way. For example, a chilly spooky midnight can turn into a sad melancholy dream. It is an ability to adapt that I can bring forth into other aspects of my life. I can start a different career feeling cautious and wary. In a few days or even months I could love or hate the job completely, acknowledging that it might not have been the path for me. These is a personal awareness when one creates something. Each artist puts a little of themselves into everything they create-from the author to the clothing designer. It is not about being famous, because there are much easier ways to do that. It is about creating something that lasts.

A good artist creates an emotion for that one moment. An excellent artist creates that emotion for many years forward.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Caitlin Gonya

I love reading. Everything and, just about anything, I can put my hands on. I was guided towards writing, so I started with book reviews, and am now feeling ready to showcase some of my stories. I would appreciate any constructive feedback.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.