Journal logo

A New Paradigm For Tech Marketers: Educational Marketing

You are right, which means you’re going to have to shoot straight and be upfront on the front end about what your expectations are.

By MUFFLE ITPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I listened to a great RR audio a while back on top-grading employees, and agreed with much of it, but also, would add that our economy is dictating better employees as well.

For instance, I like Robert Kiosaki’s view of the Cashflow Quadrant, as I believe it is a quick-shot in describing what it is your looking for in an employee. In a tech business, you do not need worker ants, you need skilled, experienced, and extroverts.

READ MORE : SEO COMPANY IN AGRA

Yeah, I realize that most techies, including me, don’t fit this bill. However, I have learned these things, and they are paying off.

Also, I am looking for an owner not a consumer or observer. An owner (employee) says, this is my company, and I like my job and as long as I have enough to meet my needs .

I let my employer know that, and they invest in me, I am good. A consumer/observer employee is a short term thinker who is gaining knowledge in search of money and not relationships for the long term.

Consumer/observer employees tend to get aggravated when you tell them they need to read on their own, study on their own, and invest in their own side education.

Don’t get me wrong, I regularly attempt to invest in our installers, sometimes it works, sometimes it does not. It does not mean I stop doing it because I don’t get a 100% return on it.

Direct response educational marketing has everything to do with this. If I am not educating, informing, and expecting the best, then I will get exactly what I am looking for mediocre, lazy, and ‘I am entitled’ mentalities.

Educational marketing is not something just for your hot/cold contacts. It is something you also do internally with intentionality. I attempt to do something marketing wise at least every day.

I burn cd’s to listen to on the way to client sites, I subscribe to marketing newsletters, I register for every webinar that is free that I can, I take every certification course that is being paid for that I can, and on top of that I serve my customers first.

Without a customer, I do not have an educational machine. Without educating the customer, I do not have an educated employee.

Without a direct response educational system, I am playing ‘whack-a-mole’ (an illustration I use that gives the picture of someone running around with a huge mallet whacking moles and never solving the problem) with the latest greatest and spinning plates.

The problem with spinning plates is that they start wobbling after a while and if you’re the only one spinning the plates, then you can get awful tired running around spinning plates.

Finally, many folks think that I am a walking resource, that I came up with all this stuff myself. Thanks for the compliment but actually I am an excellent at ‘R&D’ (robbing and duplicating).

Part of having a simple system is finding out what systems are out there and if they work for you. Much of my educational marketing is from 2-3 different sources, similar themes ect, but essentially a melting pot of my ‘R&D’.

Not getting it? Maybe this quote will help (I waited years to finally get this succinct and yes it is R&D’d): “There is no extra credit for climbing the mountain when there your email box, in your mail, etc.

The real digital samurai is the one who mines and processes information and discern through it for expediency, efficiency, and effectiveness. Gotta run, I am going to take the elevator.

ALSO READ : BEST SEO COMPANY IN AGRA

industry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.