Journal logo

A little note of thankfulness.

Marking one year since the announcement of the first U.K. lockdown.

By Mike DalleyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
A little note of thankfulness.
Photo by Samuel Regan-Asante on Unsplash

I mean, where to begin with this one. On this day of remembrance there is much to reflect on from the last twelve months. Friends, family, and companionship. An incredible NHS and an amazing vaccine rollout. So, in addition to these things and people which I have often taken for granted, here are three other things I personally am thankful for since COVID changed our lives.

The furlough scheme.

I remember the 17th of March 2020 very well, as this was the day I was sat in my General Manager’s office, the two of us genuinely worried and wondering about how we were going to make payroll if the pandemic was going to get much worse or protracted (at the time, most groups and bookings had cancelled, with not much on the horizon). Then, four days later, on 20th of March, Chancellor Rishi Sunak announced unprecedented economic measures to support workers: the Coronavirus Job Retention Scheme. Tears welled up – the last time that happened was when I watched Toy Story 3.

Whatever side of the political fence you sit on, or even if you are inclined to be somewhat itinerant with regards to your feelings toward public affairs, the U.K’s furlough scheme has been a god-send. Among the most generous of any country’s employment support measures, knocking on the door of – and even surpassing – some schemes in Scandinavian countries, territories that are known for extensive support even in the best of times – the C.J.R.S. has saved countless jobs. It has not been without its faults, but without it we as a country would be a lot worse-off today. I can’t imagine life without the C.J.R.S., even if running payroll would be a lot simpler!

U.K. employment law.

I have a professional network that now spans every corner of the globe, across countless industries and sectors. Over the last year or so I have heard from some of these individuals, who shared with me stories that frankly made my skin crawl. One ex-colleague, based in a country that shall remain nameless, lost his job in a hotel (that will also remain nameless) due to COVID. He learned of this gut-wrenching news, not through sombre town hall meetings and multiple consultation hearings, but by returning to his staff accommodation after a routine shift, to find his door locked and a box of his belongings – including his passport and bank cards – left on the side of the street.

I will admit that even as an HR professional I sometimes roll my eyes at the seemingly endless legal chicanery that engulfs what we do (it is because of U.K. employment law that I have become such an adept letter writer). At the very least, I do not think often enough about the reasoning behind the multitudes of Acts and amendments. Existing legal provisions and newer, COVID-related policies have ensured that our amazing employees, who have been affected so much through no fault of their own, have been given an amazing level of protection. It is truly in times like now that one realises the value and reasoning behind such extensive safeguards.

Flexible employers, flexible jobs.

Although on one hand it pains me to see talent leave my largely furloughed industry, the reality is that in many cases, people had little choice. In this respect, all I can do is cross my fingers and hope that people want to return when (not if!) business returns. Throughout 2020, swathes of affected workers have found hope and survival through picking up jobs with flexible hours that have fit around furlough obligations, or in many cases, started side gigs that have gradually become steady and gainful employment.

Where I live, this latter point has had added benefits. In Royal Arsenal, we now have daily food trucks, door to door services, a farmer’s market that is larger than ever before and every manner of Covid-secure businesses and provisions, all run and delivered by the guys and girls next door. This has done so much to strengthen the sense of community, the drive to “buy local” and, for the people running these gigs, perhaps the realisation of a dream that has long been put off. I have also recently realised that for the first time since leaving my hometown of Cheltenham, I am grateful for a sense of belonging and the comforting embrace of “home”, frankly a miracle in a city of over eight million people that currently feels so deserted, albeit for only a month or two longer, with any luck.

I will stop short of adding a fourth reason to be thankful – which is virtual conferencing such as Teams and Zoom – as, to be honest, I am still making my mind up about them...

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Mike Dalley

Living in London with big feet, a Swede, and an angry cat. Lover of all things related to Hospitality and Human Resources; lucky that my career encompasses both.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.