Journal logo

A diamond in a rhinestone world.

Introspection

By IAM SimplyShanPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1
A diamond in a rhinestone world.
Photo by Gigi on Unsplash

“Why are you so stubborn?

“Life is going to be hard because your too stubborn!”

I don’t remember how old I was when I was first called stubborn. As a young girl, I wasn’t easily swayed; I knew what I believed and what I wanted. In typical first-born fashion, I’d have a very long face with a mix of tears .

But I was just a girl, still learning, still figuring out how to decipher between true strength and inflexibility. I learned to soften my stance. Seek permission before making an argument. Hearing adults tell me to Stop being so stubborn. The world, I learned, preferred me as a people pleaser at least that’s how it seemed. And so, by the time I was in my early 20s, that’s exactly who I became.

A people pleaser.

It’s true that stubbornness isn’t always a good thing. It can be harmful when it shows up as narrow-mindedness or the refusal to listen to (or respect) others.

"You're too sensitive." 

You’re too emotional.”

It's the two common phrases I've heard all my life. Depending on the context, it's either meant as an insult or offered as well-meaning feedback.

Regardless of the intention, I'm always left with the same feelings:

Toughen up. Be stronger. Bury and mute your emotions. Be different than who you are. And the list goes on.

From as early as I can remember, my world has been shaped by sensitivity. For years, I've been ashamed about my bottomless well of emotions , feeling things so deeply.

I finally learned that I process experiences and relate through my heart first, then my brain, and then my body.

I also learned , having feelings is normal and Is perfectly okay!

A quick Google search shows the magnitude of sensitive people operating throughout the world, asking the internet questions like,

"Am I too sensitive?”

"Why am I so emotional?"

“How to be less emotional”

and, the most heartbreaking of them all is

"How do I stop being a sensitive person?" 

Sensitivity is a natural characteristic, not a learned or malleable trait. We can't change our sensitive nature, nor should we have to or want to. Learning to love ourselves as we are may take some rewriting of old scripts, but it's so worth it. We can choose to embrace, and even celebrate, the sensitive spirits living inside us. And then we can pass the freedom on to others who've for too long believed they are "too sensitive." As if it was a malfunction of some sort.

Because sensitive people are just another breed of people, and the more often I remind myself of this, the less I believe there was ever such a thing as being "too sensitive."

A SELF CARE TIP FOR A SENSITIVE PERSON

You are a human being first. Yes , you’re a human being not a robot. You are not perfect, and you were not created to be perfect.

Remember that not everyone is a sensitive person. Just as the world needs us, the world needs people who process their emotions through their brains and bodies. It's not fun being told you're "too sensitive;" neither is it fun to hear “you're insensitive." Everyone processes experiences and relationships differently. Be kind to others and use words to bridge communication gaps.  

AND IF YOU LOVE A SENSITIVE PERSON:

Remember, words hold power. As the old saying goes, sticks and stones break bones. But—for sensitive people—words can hurt too. My advice is to be gentle, direct, and transparent in your communication. Please don't dismiss our feelings, even when they seem incomprehensible. The truth is, most sensitive people enjoy experiencing the world through an emotional lens; it makes us feel alive and gives experiences a deeper sense of meaning. We just want to feel accepted and normal in the process. 

In rhinestone world, be a Diamond.

Stay Radiant

-Ss

advice
1

About the Creator

IAM SimplyShan

Analytical, Food for thought stories and experiences through my eyes.

-Ss

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.