Journal logo

A Day in the Life of an Erotica Writer

Not another structured day!

By Autumn SeavePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
A Day in the Life of an Erotica Writer
Photo by Mel Poole on Unsplash

I love readying "a day in the life" articles. Especially a day in the life of a writer stories. It fascinates me how vastly different everyone is in their processes.

I wish I could say that I have this routine that gets me where I want to be. I wish I had something you could learn from. Unfortunately, the only thing you're likely to learn from me is what not to do!

Yesterday I read a piece on Medium about the day in the life of a fairly popular Medium writer. I only wish my days were like hers. She gets up at some ungodly hour of the morning - without an alarm clock of course because she hates alarms and she doesn't want to ruin a favorite song by using it as an alarm - and does some light yoga. She has ONE cup of coffee and takes an hour to read something light and inspiring. No social media. No emails. Not until she writes first.

Are you kidding me? First of all - people who get up at ungodly hours without an alarm are just not human. How? Why? If I want to be up before noon I need an alarm. Or ten.

My day is not nearly as structured or as productive. To be honest, I haven't found a routine that works for me yet.

Most days I start off with a phone call from JB. He's my long-distance (for the time being) partner that I am closest with. We talk twice a day when we aren't together and he helps me get out of bed in the morning with a Messenger video chat. If it wasn't for that call, I'm sure I'd sleep way too late most days. We chat for about an hour while I have a smoke (or three) and drink my first cup of coffee.

While I drink at least a couple more cups of coffee, I then check my phone. Medium/Vocal stats, Facebook, Twitter, Reddit, and yes, I need to take care of my farm (Hay Day is my fun distraction...like I need another one).

Eventually, around 11 am, sometimes as late as noon, I'll get to the computer. Days like today, I bring it out to the living room because I just can't handle sitting at my desk yet. I'll get there eventually. Or I won't.

What I get to work at - after a little more fiddling around - varies. I always have client work to do. And I should just get it done. But I'd rather write a Medium article or a piece here on Vocal. Somedays I manage to pull myself together and do some of the work that really pays my bills. But that varies.

For the rest of the afternoon, I'll try to get the paying work done. Or I won't. Honestly, there's no real method to it.

At some point, there's a chance that I might write some fiction. A short story or maybe my work in progress.

Yes, my days are this ridiculous. I have no structure. I am trying to establish a routine but I'm not there yet. And believe it or not, I do this full-time. And somehow, I manage to make enough money to pay my bills.

I've read enough of these "day in the life" articles to know that I am not going to find real success, reaching the point where I'm not just surviving but thriving, until I get some real focus. I need to find my way.

Why am I even writing this? Because if you're a new writer or if you've been at it for years, I want you to know that you're not alone. You're not the only one that is struggling to find your way. Not all writers have the strict routines that you read about. People don't read posts like this very often so it makes them feel like they are the only ones that haven't found their way yet.

Keep working at it. Keep trying. Do different things. Try to do the same thing for a period of time. You'll find your way.

So will I.

Check out some of my other work on Vocal. If you like what you read, you can use the heart icon to show you enjoyed it. If you really liked it, you can leave me a tip (earnings from sites like this make it so I can spend more time here and less time writing things for other people!)

workflow
3

About the Creator

Autumn Seave

Erotica, Sex, Dating, Polyamory, Relationships, Life — My homebase here: http://inkyblueallusions.com (buy me a coffee, purchase my books, etc)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.