Journal logo

75 Hard Day 3 & 4

Challenge on mental toughness

By Emily McDonaldPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
75 Hard Day 3 & 4
Photo by Marc Rafanell López on Unsplash

Alright, days 3 & 4! Let’s get into it!

So day 3 was slightly hectic, but a super fun hectic. I woke up super sleepy and stayed in bed a little later than normal. I made breakfast for my boyfriend and I and relaxed for a bit before heading to the garage to workout. I had just gotten my jump rope in the mail and was super excited to try it out. I did 15 minutes of jump roping then 30 minutes of strength training. Afterwards, my boyfriend and I went to the store. His family came over and we had a nice barbecue! While his family was over his sister and I walked our dogs for 15 minutes so I got some outside time in, then when they left I did 30 minutes of yoga.

It was pretty easy for me to get my water in thankfully and I read my 10 pages before bed. It was difficult for me to not drink any alcohol because that’s what we do when we socialize usually! I ended up getting some energy drinks and carbonated beverages so I could pretend I was drinking and feel included. I am actually loving rediscovering not drinking again. It’s nice hanging out with people and not worrying about drinking too much and getting too tired. I tend to get headaches from alcohol, I get tired, and I usually end up with a stomach ache afterwards. It’s probably best to take a break from it.

I haven’t lost any weight yet on this challenge but it has only been a few days. I am feeling accomplished though and that’s a nice change! I love checking everything off of my to do list and completing everything! It has been nice having some structure in my day as well as more motivation to get stuff done.

Day 4 was super relaxed and just what I needed. I really need about 10 more of them in a row but we can’t always get what we want. I slept in late again and it felt nice. I may be getting sick but, gotta do what you gotta do am I right? I am determined to finish this challenge. I went for a 50 minute walk with my dog which was super fun! I then was pretty lazy for the rest of the day, but I did do two stretching/yoga videos! I got all of my exercise in and I drank my gallon.

It was easy to get my reading in and easy to follow my diet but it was hard to get my gallon in. I can see how much better I feel being hydrated and I am loving it. I like taking the progress pictures as well as an alternative to weighing myself everyday. It is much easier on my mental health and helps me put things into perspective in terms of how we measure our health.

It is getting easier to not drink. I do have a more flexible diet than some other people who do this, but with my history I would rather play that aspect safe. As long as I am tracking everything I think it will be fine. I just don’t want to go down the rabbit hole of restricting again. I am excited for the next 71 days and seeing what changes will come!

I really would recommend people give this a try if they’re looking to increase your discipline. Even over the last 4 days I have realized that I really can do more than I used to and it really doesn’t change my days that much but it makes a huge difference in how I feel. I love getting things done! It’s interesting how we always say that we don't have time for things, when in reality we have time for everything. We just chose not to do things.

For example, you say you don’t have time to workout, but then you misplace your phone and spend 30 minutes looking for it. You had 30 minutes to spare, you just didn’t want to use them to workout. You say you don’t have 15 minutes a day to read, but you have 45+ minutes a day to play games on your phone. You say you can’t take your dog for a walk because you don’t have time. However, you have 30-60 minutes to sit down and watch your favorite show. This isn’t to say that you cannot do things you enjoy such as playing games or watching your favorite shows. It just goes to show you that you really can make time for whatever you want to do. You just get to decide if you want to invest your time in yourself and your personal development or if you want to stay where you are and be content with where you are. No matter what, we can all improve in one way or another. It’s realizing that and then taking action upon it that helps really elevate us and separate the achievers from the people that stay the same.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Emily McDonald

27, fur mom, mental health focus. I'm also a fitness and lifestyle blogger. I hope you enjoy the content!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.