Journal logo

6 Tips to Strike Down Writer's Block

Check out these (un)conventional methods to help you bounce back when writer's block rears its ugly head

By Ebony HardingPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Like
Every writer's worst nightmare

Lately, you have been unstoppable with your fingers moving at a lightning speed against the keyboard. Then the dreaded happens. As you stare at the blinking cursor in horror, you wonder what happened to that fire that was with you a few days ago. What if it never returns? Before you know it, your mind is spiraling down into that dark path of doubt. Stop. Take a deep breath.

Tell yourself that you're only experiencing a temporary block. It happens to everyone. Even Pulitzer-prize winners and bestselling authors.

Below, I've created 6 methods that I've experimented with when writer's block strikes. Although this is written for fiction writers, I'm sure that one or more of these can apply to those who don't write fiction.

Write

If you're banking on the muse bestowing you with a special visit, then you'll never get your writing done. Do it, even if what you're pumping out on the page is garbage. You're going to have to go back and revise it during editing. Resist that tiny voice of perfection in your head. Just don't do it.

It may also be worthwhile to try the old-fashioned way—writing longhand. You'll be surprised at how that wall starts to crumble.

Create your Own Writing Prompts Using the Dictionary

This exercise will not only enhance your vocabulary, but you get to flex your creative muscles. Open your dictionary and without looking, flip the pages and stop. Close your eyes and point anywhere on the page. Jot down a sentence that comes to mind. You can also write down any feelings associated with that word. For example, suppose your finger lands on "field." What do you associate with "field"? Do you have any memories from your childhood? If it's a word that you've never heard of, even better. Pick at least 5-10 words and write them down.

Alternatively, you can also go to dictionary.com and subscribe to the site's word of the day.

Tarot Cards

I’ll usually try this method when I have the beginning seeds of a short story. I usually ask "What's my character's motivation, how did they get to this situation, etc". Let's say that after shuffling my deck, I pull the 3 of swords, The Tower, and The Fool cards. Based on those cards, I can create a story around a character whose life has been turned upside down unexpectedly. That's just one of the possibilities, but with an open mind see where your imagination takes you!

Pinterest

Look at photographs, get inspired, and create a board. Check out my visual writing ideas here on Pinterest.

Get in Touch with your Inner Child

I feel that as adults, there's an invisible rule written somewhere that we must be serious all the time. Of course, there's a time and place for that. Despite being a 30-something year old, I'm still a big kid. When I'm not writing, I'm dabbling in stop-motion animation with dolls and action figures. I also have a coloring book and will sometimes draw. I find participating in these activities very rewarding and relaxing.

Treat Yourself

As writers, we sometimes forget about the importance of self-care. Writer's block can also be a signal for us to take a break and refresh. Treating yourself can be something as little as making a splurge, meeting up with an old friend...or doing absolutely nothing.

I saved this one for last because I feel that it is not only important but that it is sometimes the one that gets neglected.

Treating myself to a cupcake and latte

advicelist
Like

About the Creator

Ebony Harding

I love the thrill of creating engaging and original content and making a true connection with my audience. You can find me on Twitter at @stellarwriter1.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.