Journal logo

6 Honest Reasons Why I am Betting on Vocal This Year

Hint: I am seeing results

By Rashmi GPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Photo by Anna Tarazevich from Pexels

It’s been almost a year since I published my first story in Vocal. And I have come a long way from it.

I joined for the challenges, gave up when I did not win any, then started again by exploring various genres. I finally got my Top Story featured last month. It's been one eventful journey so far.

Here are 5 reasons Vocal works for me and why I am giving it a shot:

#1 It takes sometime to see growth in any platform

I started writing in Medium in 2020 seeing writers make 500$ per month. I did not earn a single dollar (the $40 payout is stuck somewhere in Stripe) but I found out how much I love to write. I joined Vocal purely for the prize amount in the challenges. No shame in admitting that. Spurred by the bonus I started writing on a regular basis and here I am on the way to my 50th article here.

I am publishing simultaneously in both the platforms for two reasons:

1. I have a good audience base in Medium but I don't qualify for Medium Partner Program to earn there.

2. Vocal has a also good audience and I get to earn here.

I have been reading extensive reviews of people giving up on Vocal. Well, every platform has its ups and downs and depends on what a creator is looking for in a platform. Atleast a year is required to know if a platform works for a writer. And it also helps if it has an intuitive editing space.

As for me I am giving this year a 100% for Vocal and waiting to see where it takes me.

#2 Social Media Shares Count

It kinda makes up for the lack of comment section in Vocal. Which I am hoping will be added soon.

I republish my best performing articles from Medium in Vocal and share it with my twitter and Instagram community.

I enjoy reading their kind words and improve from their feedback, the bonus? All those reads translate into earnings for me.

It pays to amplify your voice here!

#3 My Location Is A Matter of Concern

I am from India. I am not eligible for the Medium Partner Program and few other freelance sites owning to my location. But Vocal, thanks to the Stripe payouts helps me earn.

I was ecstatic when I with drew my first $20 and spent it on a beautiful dress.

Vocal is my first ever side-hustle that gave me real earnings and that is super special for me as a newbie writer.

#4 The Challenges Are Bomb

I love them. I also appreciate the thinking behind in coming up with a unique, well thought-out theme for each challenge.

I make it a point to participate in all those challenges I relate to. And I am not giving up till I win one.

They inspire me to think thematically, revisit my life and improve my writing. And of course to win that $5000 first prize and to make my mother proud is goal no.1.

#5 The Milestones Payouts Matter To Me

The fact that quantity of articles are appreciated as much as the quality motivates me.

The joining bonus, $5 bonus for 5 articles etc. no matter what people say, are encouragement to a newbie writer like me. I become a better writer only by writing a lot, editing and improving. And getting a bonus for that is a plus!

I have got $5 each for two Top Stories. I am on the way to $50 now.

When My article featured in Top Stories

#6 Vocal Is Bringing Changes To The PlatForm

Slowly but steadily. I love the pinned feature available for my profile. What it showcases is that creators voices are being heard and respected.

I love the creator spotlight feature. Needless to say, featuring there is in my bucket list this year.

I get quick responses when I take up a point with them. The Quick edit feature was something I remember discussing with the Vocal team.

Team, also please take my request to add he comments section. I read some amazing articles, poems here and I wish I could share with the author how much their words have touched me.

I would love to hear such words and feedback from my reader too!

Closing Thoughts

If you are a new writer reading this - welcome to a safe and supportive community to read, write and grow your audience.

And to the other creators staying here, thank you for all the wonderful article you write here. They inspire me big time and I am taking notes.

Thank you for reading!

literature
1

About the Creator

Rashmi G

Fascinated by topics on mind, astronomy and self-growth

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.