Journal logo

5 Reasons on Why I Chose to Become a Writer

In hopes that my reasons give you the inspiration to keep on chuggin'.

By Jazz ParksPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
5 Reasons on Why I Chose to Become a Writer
Photo by Patrick Fore on Unsplash

Becoming a writer - which involves making an income from your writing - is a worthwhile pursuit, though undoubtedly full of challenges. For example, the projected 10-year growth in jobs for writers is only 2%. As a result, most writers will tell you to keep your job and write in your spare time. 

Even though it's not easy to establish yourself as a writer, it's still possible. But even then, if you chose to become a writer, you probably have a damn good reason for doing so! It took me a while, but ultimately, I developed five solid reasons why I chose to become a writer. 

1. I admire(d) the lifestyle.

Nothing sounds more alluring than the life of a (successful) writer. You wake up in the morning, stretch your legs, slide into your robe and pour yourself a hot cup of coffee. You migrate to your study, filled with your favorite books and hand-picked inspirational decorations. You sit at your desk and gaze out the window before doting away for hours at the keyboard. 

After some time, your (significant other) knocks on the door, pleading to spend time with you. You eventually (grudgingly) give in and spend the next few hours watching movies or strolling at the beach.

 You eat dinner, brush your teeth, and then retire to the study while your (significant other) binges her favorite T.V show. 

As I have realized, a writer's life can differ significantly. One (writer) might insist on sticking to a schedule, while others might prefer a more flexible approach. Some like to write at specific times in the day, while others write whenever the "need arises." 

My writing style is probably different from yours - both how I write and how I look at the act of writing - but what I can confirm is that a writer's life is just that; a lifestyle. And the writer's life is a life for me.

2. I enjoy making (and reading) stories.

If you stop to think about it, life is a series of stories. These stories date back to times as early as 700 B.C. and have played an essential role in how our society(s) function today. Stories are, in essence, a recollection of how humans have survived and what we've experienced along the way.

Stories can sometimes be genuine, with obvious twists for entertainment purposes. Other stories are from pure legend but often offer profound, meaningful lessons to be learned and studied. Religions are well known for their accounts. Greek and Norse mythology (and many other mythologies) also contains a wide variety of stories that still offer lessons to be learned. 

3. The allure of "fame" and success - a sense of accomplishment.

I believe that there are different levels to "fame." Some celebrities - like musicians - can become so famous that their entire lives revolve around pleasing others. Actors are also constantly portrayed on the media, with every single action being monitored by paparazzi hoping to make a quick buck. But you know who (generally) aren't subjected to such trauma? Authors. 

I have to admit that I have my fair share of favorite authors, but I wouldn't travel thousands of miles to see one dance in front of a live audience or act in a live roleplay. I will, however, purchase any book that I see with the name Christopher Paolini, Rick Riordan, J.K Rowling, or Cornelia Funke.

Authors - even the super-duper successful ones - are often gifted a somewhat quiet lifestyle, free to make their own choices with plenty of time to write and spend with loved ones. 

4. I already failed at everything else.

I have interests in various things but could never fully commit to any one specific thing. I honestly believe that many writers chose to become writers because they possessed multiple interests. 

To be good at something, you must fully engage in the specific practice until you become good at doing so (like playing the violin, gymnastics, or even math). And even then, you have to continue to train yourself, otherwise risking potential "failure."

I believe that a huge reason I - and many of us - have chosen to become a writer is that writing allows me to "dabble" in my various interests by expressing those interests through the written form. I can study whatever I want, whenever I want, and write about what I have learned. 

5. Something to leave behind when I die.

The most prominent reason I chose to become a writer is to want to leave behind something when I die. I used to fear death. But not because I was afraid of losing my consciousness or the ability to experience the things that I loved. But because I was scared of being forgotten. 

Being a writer provides me with the opportunity to leave something behind when I die. I want to write stories and to have those stories become legends. I want to have something for my children to read when I die - something to look over whenever they think of me. And if that can make an impact in someone else's life after my death, then that would be nice too.

workflow
Like

About the Creator

Jazz Parks

Father | Husband | Oldest of 6 | Born in Bellingham, Wa |

I firmly believe that to know a man, you must first know his goals. My current goals: pay off all debt, invest 20% down on a home, and travel as much as possible!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.