Journal logo

5 Nigerian Celebrities Who Used to Be Bankers

Look at life!

By Jide OkonjoPublished 3 years ago Updated 4 months ago 4 min read
1

Nobody knows what the future holds. It's so interesting to see how life goes and how people end up with the people they end up with, with the jobs they end up with, or how life simply turns for a lot of people.

On today's list, we'll be looking at 5 Nigerian celebrities who left their jobs as bankers to pursue a career in entertainment. Without further ado, here they are.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

1. Ini Dima-Okojie

Before star Nollywood actress Ini Dima-Okojie became an actress, she used to work as an investment banker. Speaking to Encomium about her decision to leave banking, Ini Dima said:

I used to be an investment banker. It was a good job; it paid well and I learnt a lot. Normally, I’m a very organized person; I arranged my itinerary for the week from Sunday most times. But as time went on, there was this longing in my heart and I knew I wasn’t fulfilled regardless of how much money I was making. In my head it didn’t seem logical to abandon a career I had built and to pursue something that was just a passion, so I kept doing what I was doing for another year.

At a point, I applied to the New York Film Academy (the annex in Dubai) just to fulfill all righteousness as it were and see if the idea would die off inside my head but it did not. I eventually knew I couldn’t put it off anymore when I got to a point where I stopped ironing my outfits to work. I would just find something stretchy to throw on and head off to work. It was at that point that I really knew I wasn’t fulfilled as a banker anymore.

2. Mayorkun

Another person you may be surprised to find out used to work in the bank is Nigerian singer, Mayorkun. Speaking to Legit.ng, Mayorkun said about the decision:

After my service year I worked in a bank before embracing music fully. My salary in the bank was so poor so I decided to get another job. Meanwhile, I have recorded a song using my cousin’s piano in late December, 2015 and I shared it on social media late January 2016 and Davido saw it on February 1. Then he followed me and sent me a direct message via Twitter. He later followed me on Instagram and asked if I can do more than playing the keyboard. I then sent him some of the songs I have done. He picked on one that I recorded while still in school and told me ‘guy I am signing you on’.

3. Toke Makinwa

Another celebrity who used to be a banker before leaving the profession to start a job in radio is Nigerian OAP, presenter, and socialite Toke Makinwa.

Speaking to Chude briefly about her early days working in the radio just after leaving her banking job, Toke said:

My very first cheque from Silverbird was N250,000, this was eleven years ago. Very first cheque. I was leaving banking, had to take a little bit of a paycut but it wasn’t that bad because I was earning N250k per month. So it wasn’t so bad for those years.

4. CDQ

Nigerian musician CDQ also spoke about how his parents wanted him to be a banker so he studied, became a banker, and then quit after one week to pursue music. He said about it:

At first music was not something my parents wanted me to do. They wanted me to be a banker before my daddy passed on. That was why they sent me to school to read economics. I tried being that banker he wanted me to be despite the fact that he was no more. After my B.Sc I wrote for jobs in FCMB, Diamond bank they gave me the job. After a week, Mastercraft called and said CDQ I know you have passion for music and there is nothing in life like doing what you love to do. So, I quit my bank job for music.

5. Bolanle Ninalowo

The fifth celebrity on our list today is actor Bolanle Ninalowo who also started his career off in banking. Speaking about his time in banking with Punch, Nino B said:

I studied Accounting at Devry University and Marketing at Keller Graduate School of Management, both in America. I did use my degree to gain employment in various firms in America and Nigeria, before I decided to pursue my passion for acting. I was once a banker; I worked with Bank One. I was also an accountant at a company called General Growth Properties in Chicago. Upon my return to Nigeria, I worked with Guaranty Trust Bank.

Wow! Toke, Ini Dima, Mayorkun, CDQ and Nino B all used to be bankers. Which one of them surprised you the most? Let me know by leaving me a comment on my Facebook post. I'd love to hear what you think.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you haven't already for more stories like this, the fun never ends.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.