Journal logo

5 Lessons Learned From My First 3 Months Writing on Vocal

The best way to learn is try...

By Trisha DunbarPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - February 2022
90
5 Lessons Learned From My First 3 Months Writing on Vocal
Photo by Wilhelm Gunkel on Unsplash

“You don’t start out writing good stuff. You start out writing crap and thinking it’s good stuff, and then gradually you get better at it. That’s why I say one of the most valuable traits is persistence.” ― Octavia E. Butler

I don’t know exactly how it happened, but apparently, I now write on Vocal… I have been a reader on the platform since the Summer of 2021 and discovered many talented writers.

During the Autumn I decided to start writing here too and now have 30+ published articles, which gained about 5 views. Okay, maybe slightly more than that but who cares really, right? I got followed by 25+ awesome people so far, mainly other writers. Whom If I knew who they were would follow back and discovered the content they have produced!

So far I have been lucky enough to earn enough to be able to afford a decent cup of coffee… Maybe even 2 and a half cups of decent coffee-now I am just bragging, but cheers!

***

My next steps...

“Start writing, no matter what. The water does not flow until the faucet is turned on.” - Louis L’Amour

For my next month on Vocal, I am planning to write 30 stories over 30 days, pushing myself out of my comfort zone and learning a little more about this writing platform and my own writing style.

***

The 5 Lessons Learned

1. You can earn money as a newbie on Vocal

Just don’t give up your day job yet and remember to back up your articles. I didn't know about the bonuses and this has been a most welcome surprise that gamified my writing and help me push the boundaries of my usual routine.

2. BUT it’s not all about the money!

Some people come to the platform to read others to write, or if you are like me for a mixture of the two. However, it’s not all about the money it’s about being part of a community, which leads nicely to point 3…

3. You are not stranded on an island

Ultimately this platform is a network of awesome writers and readers. Reach out and connect to each other to learn, grow and be awesome together! I have discovered so many wonderful writers by actively engaging with the community.

4. Publication matters if you want to expand

Back to point 3 that you are not on an isolated island! Share your work across social media to discover whole new audiences. There will be some rejections, but if you don't create you never move forward with your writing!

5. Even some of the best writers use Grammarly

I was surprised to discover even some of the best writers on Vocal and Medium use Grammarly or other software to ensure high-quality articles! I thought it flowed naturally for the writing warriors on these platforms.

***

In Summary

“People say, ‘What advice do you have for people who want to be writers?’ I say, they don’t really need advice, they know they want to be writers, and they’re gonna do it. ” — R.L. Stine

I have really enjoyed the first 3 months on Vocal. I have met some amazing new people along the way that have been really supportive. I look forward to reading more of their work.

If you would like to see how I get on hit that subscribe button and let's travel together in this writing (and reading) journey! I look forward to connecting with you.

© Trisha Dunbar

👉 Subscribe to give my stories a new loving home in your inbox, thank you 💌

product review
90

About the Creator

Trisha Dunbar

Rambling of written words | Reader of things | Drinker of coffee | Doer of stuff | Welcome to my profile 😊

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman about a year ago

    Loved it! I’ll have to download grammarly now!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.