Journal logo

5 Books every Female Entrepreneur should own

Written by women, about women, for women.

By Leah HarrisPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
6
Image via ComingSoon.it | Image via Netflix.com

A woman is like a tea bag; you never know how strong it is until it’s in hot water. -Eleanor Roosevelt

Being female in the business world is a powerful thing.

You bring a certain spark to the table. You're not a man, which can be a hindrance that makes you have to try that much harder. You have your own big ideas, and you won't (and shouldn't) be told no. You have to be willing to prove yourself if you ever want to succeed.

And sometimes, that means saying goodbye to the 9-5.

It takes guts to be a woman who says, "No, I won't work for you. But I will work for me."

Women want to work... for themselves.

While the tables are starting to turn, women still get paid less than men. Women also don't get the same benefits as men, or promotions, or job opportunities.

That all changes the moment we decide to work for ourselves.

One of the biggest perks of entrepreneurship is that you get to work for you. Meaning you decide your hours, and you decide how much money you make. YOU decide.

But, you have to be smart, savvy, and have multiple streams of income. Be willing to grind, because it won't be easy. Know your field, and know your niche.

And also, know how other women have done it before.

It is still so possible to make a good living for yourself as a smart young woman with a big dream. You just need to know how to do it.

Making the dolla, dolla bills.

I can say for a fact, that it's possible to support yourself as a female entrepreneur. I am doing it. But you HAVE TO HUSTLE.

Since 2018, I have been a relatively successful entrepreneur. I have my first blog which is monetized through ad revenue, affiliate income, and my own products. I take commissions as an artist, and of course, write as an aspiring author on Vocal.Media (where you are now!).

So my advice is, start small and work your way up, and have your eggs in lots of baskets.

There is a lot to learn from the books below, and from finding powerful female role models to look up to on this journey. Sophia Amoruso is a big role model of mine, as well as Lauren McManus, Natalie Bacon, and Ariele Alasko.

So grab your coffee and a journal. You're about to be inspired.

What to read as a Female Entrepreneur

If you are serious about being an entrepreneur, you should read how other women made it for themselves! If you want something, you need to know how to get it. And if someone else has been successful before, why not seek their advice? Here are my top 5 books every female entrepreneur needs to have on her bookshelf.

1. #GIRLBOSS

“No matter where you are in life, you'll save a lot of time by not worrying too much about what other people think about you.

The earlier in your life that you can learn that, the easier the rest of it will be.” - Sophia Amoruso

Image Via Amazon.com

Sophia Amoruso is a woman among women. She started a shift in the tides for all women when she founded her company, Nasty Gal.

If you know what it feels like to not have a direction in life, but have a dream of starting your own company and proving yourself in this world, I HIGHLY suggest giving #GIRLBOSS a read.

After you read this book, go watch the Netflix series starring Britt Robertson. It will both inspire you and have you laughing and cheering your butt off.

#2. She Means Business

“Success is not an accident; it’s something we have to create on purpose.” - Carrie Green

Image Via Amazon.com

After starting her first business at the age of 20, Carrie Green has started a revolution of women business owners and young female creators with the Female Entrepreneur Association.

Carrie uses her influence to help women live their dreams through weekly tip videos, her FEA membership program, and of course, her book She Means Business.

If you want to become a wildly successful female entrepreneur, this is a great starting point!

#3. In the Company of Women

I'm most proud of my self-reliance. My basic message to myself has always been "I can learn how to do this." - Ariele Alasko

This book is less of a how-to, and more of a showcase of successful females and their work. I first found this book in the business section of Barnes & Noble. It stood out among the other business-related books and I was immediately drawn to it.

I probably sat there on the floor reading about all the courageous women in this book for fifteen minutes straight before I realized I was going to be late for work.

This book is a great read and will get you inspired to create something amazing of your own.

Image Via Amazon.com

#4. Business Boutique

“Success isn’t a gleaming, shiny mountain. It’s a pile of mistakes that you’re standing on instead of under.” -Christy Wright

I read this book as I was starting my first blog. A friend of ours had gifted it to me once she heard that I was starting my own online business. At the time, my day job was working in the Beauty & Vitamins section at Sprouts Farmers Market, and I took this book to read on my breaks.

This book is not only a how-to but also an it-can-be-done.

Christy gives great examples of how to start a small business, from her own experience and that of her mother. Now working with Dave Ramsey, she knows the in's and out's of the finance side of business as well.

I would highly recommend this book for anyone looking to start their own entrepreneurship, whether a small mom & pop shop or an online store.

Image Via Amazon.com

#5. Dear Female Founder

I wish I had access to a resource like that when I set up my first business 15 years ago. Everyone should read it regardless of gender. – Wendy Tan White MBE

This book was put together by female entrepreneur Lu Li. Her dream for female founders led her to create her own business, Blooming Founders. Her company helps entrepreneurs grow, learn and build their businesses from the ground up, and makes the start-up process that much easier.

This book, Dear Female Founder, has letters from 66 women entrepreneurs who have been there and done that, and are now successful in their fields of work.

Image Via Amazon.com

I hope these books inspire you to keep pursuing your dreams and become the creator, founder, author, or business owner you aspire to be.

___________________

If you like this article, read this next:

Thank you so much for reading! If you liked this article, be sure to click the heart button. If you really liked this article, tips are greatly appreciated! You can find more articles from me here on my Vocal profile.

-Leah H.

book review
6

About the Creator

Leah Harris

Writer, blogger and artist. Inspirations for writing are Markus Zusak and Tyler Knott Gregson. Follow me on Instagram! @LeahNaturally

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.