Journal logo

4th update about leaving corporate America

the next step

By Lena BaileyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I hate doing these so close together but I want to continue the story for those of you who care.

So I got a job interview with another company. I was very open with my bosses. I think one of the shift managers was kind of upset or just really didn't care. The general manager was supportive of whatever I thought I should do for my well being or growth. I think for a while I was just kind of there. I think the bosses just kind of tolerate me. I'm not a bad employee, I can tell you that much. I became a part of the companies routine or one of the things they had at their disposal.

I did have a job interview but I didn't hear anything from them. Which lead me to apply for other jobs. I haven't heard from any of the companies I applied for at the time of this posting or at least the writing of this. I am trying to set my life up to where I'm less stress and I can focus on getting my girl boss status.

I want to make it clear that I don't hold any of what is going on at my current job against the company. There are things that happen at locations and lower levels that the higher ups aren't even aware of. Basically the GM at a store could be doing something but corporate has no clue. The GM also could be lying to the corporate people. I also have no ill will to the company.

I have been working on writing and other passions. I am making money with writing so at least that's something. I want to use my passions to help me make money. I want to be a girl boss or a boss bitch. I don't hate corporate America, I just saw the ugly side of it. I really don't work at place that I describe using negative words.

I had a second job but at the start of this pandemic they cut everyone's hours but I didn't get any hours. They started to hire again without even giving me any hours. So I figured that it was kind of their way of telling me that I was out of a job. Which is a shady way of doing things.

The reasons to quit corporate America is piling up. I'm just tired of the corporate world's treatment of people. If I become a boss I know what not to do. I know I can't be a push over and that there are things you can't put up with. I feel like corporate America loses the best people and keeps the worst. Sometimes they just get stuck with the worst because they chase the good people away.

So I had another job interview this past week. I will be happy to get out of the company I am in now. I got the job and decided to move in with my grandparents to be closer to my new job. I will be writing a new series about living with my grandparents. This new job is full time with benefits. It's what I and others call an adult job. I am not letting the other job out yet. I want to make sure that I keep this job before I quit the one that is guaranteed.

I will keep you guys updated as things happen if things happen. I will like to write a series about the experience I have of living with my grand parents. Maybe interesting to see people's reactions.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Lena Bailey

Georgia born writer. Specializing in dating and true crime

If you have any questions or comments please email [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.