Journal logo

4 Ways to Stay Motivated Throughout Your Work Day

#MotivationMonday is usually never the only day we need motivation in the office. Here's 5 of our pro-tips.

By Reigning WomenPublished 5 years ago β€’ 3 min read
Like
Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

So many of the women in our community work full-time, have side-hustles, podcasts, and different ventures they're pursuing. That said, they need to be on top of their game at all times and normally can't afford a moment of complacency. I know I can't.

And so it goes that everyone who's on the "hustle" is stressed and struggling, trying to find new and unique ways to keep focused and productive.

Truth? It's freaking hard.

You know, though, that we're going to follow with the playful, "it doesn't have to be."

1. Look at what you have that you didn't prior.

When I think about where I was and who I was when I started my journey of creativity and entrepreneurship, I'm floored with two things: nostalgia & gratitude.

Keep in mind that the growth you've experienced doesn't necessarily have to be monetary, it can be in any number of measurables. For instance, I am equally as proud of Reigning Women's social media growth as I am the growth of it as a business. Additionally, I take inventory of who I am on the daily. There's seldom a day I don't look back and see significant growth now. For this, I am equally as proud.

So when you're sitting at your desk at work and you're hitting that "this sucks" wall, take a short trip down memory lane and take a look at who you used to be.

2. Find the value in what you're doing.

I believe deeply in my soul that there isn't a situation in life that doesn't have value in it.

Everything that's ever happened to or around me has added some value to my life, even if that value took a while to present itself in my life.

I've suffered heartbreak, death, and significantly confusion situations, and while I maintain that some things are simply unfair, there are things less-than-unfair that happen to us that I feel can only benefit us.

My first job was the most unenjoyable thing I've ever had to participate in. Big corporate, structure lifestyles with little to no input on the direction of anything and even less room for creativity.

My literal nightmare.

But looking back, I see now that there were lessons learned. I learned the value in certain office etiquette that I now incorporate in my own teachings and other environments that I work in.

I also found a great deal of value in the structure, to some degree. The fake incentive programs and miserable souls in the office I could have done without, but the need structural value of 8-4:30 work was something that early-in-career me most certainly extracted value from.

3. Break things down into smaller tasks.

I used to do this in grade school.

"Okay, there's 30 minutes left, so that's two sets of 15 minutes, you can do this."

Yep, this is the same concept.

While I love what I do now I often find myself doing this during my day-to-day even now.

No matter where you end up you'll always have to do things you simply don't want to do. Breaking big things up into smaller things not only incentivizes you to get things done more quickly and efficiently, but it speeds up your day and allows you to get more done in shorter periods of time.

If you have a big task that's requested of you, right out the steps you'll need to take in order to get it done and make those steps your new to-do's.

4. Recharge often.

This might seem counterproductive, especially in the American society that frequently frowns upon rest and breaks and urges an agenda of constant work and persistence.

There is an actual strategy, however, to taking frequent breaks.

Allowing your mind to rest keeps it active, fresh, and ready.

If possible, get up and walk, talk to someone about non-work related matters, do something that has literally nothing to do with work that allows you to distract yourself.

In the same way you construct a workout plan, sprinkled with rest periods between active ones, you can and should do the same with your workday.

workflow
Like

About the Creator

Reigning Women

πŸ‘‘πŸ‘‘πŸ‘‘

WHERE πŸ‘ WOMEN πŸ‘ REIGN πŸ‘

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.